Latest Stories

Zaragosa wins by 8; De Guzman prevails


WINNERS Rupert Zaragosa and Regina De Guzman hold the PH Amateur Closed trophy presented to them by NGAP president Tommy Manotoc (center) in yesterday’s awards rite. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

TRECE Martirez, Cavite—Rupert Zaragosa completed his domination of the Philippine Amateur Closed championship field by breaking par for the fourth straight day with a 1-under 71 to cap an eight-shot win over Rico Hoey at Sherwood Hills here.

The pint-sized 15-year-old, although outdriven all week, tallied a 72-hole 277 total over one of the most challenging layouts in the country and completed a “slam” of sorts by claiming all national titles—the men’s and boy’s match-play crown two years ago and the PH Am Junior Closed last week.

Hoey churned out a level 72, with Jobim Carlos shooting a day-best 67 to climb to solo third spot at 291, one shot ahead of Jonathan delos Reyes in the event presented by the MVP Sports Foundation as part of the PLDT Group Amateur Tour.

Zaragosa, Hoey, Carlos and Delos Reyes will form the Philippine team seeking to win the Putra Cup championship for the first time in 17 years starting Thursday next week, also over the ravine-filled, well-manicured layout here.

“I am just so happy; I never thought that I could accomplish this feat this early in my career,” said Zaragosa, whose coach-father Boyet finished runner-up to Jerome Delariarte in the Philippine Amateur early in the 1990s.

“Winning one (national) title is hard enough. I am very blessed to now have won all of them,” added Zaragosa.

While Zaragosa won the men’s title of the event, also backed by Pancake House Nike, Golf Depot and Pacsports by going wire-to-wire, Regina De Guzman completed a fightback in the women’s side by closing out with a 68 for a 10-shot win over Bianca Pagdanganan.

De Guzman birdied three of her last four holes for a back-nine 32, leaving everyone behind with a 290 tally.

Pagdanganan, who started the day with a three-shot lead, ballooned to an unlikely 81 for 300, salvaging second place by two shots over Pauleen Del Rosario, who fired a 71.

Carlos, who had a roller-coaster tournament after rounds of 78, 70 and 76, had an eagle, four birdies and a bogey, while Delos Reyes made sure that all Putra Cup members occupied the final four places in the standings with another steady performance.

Zaragosa had two birdies and a bogey on his first nine holes before playing his final nine at even par after knocking down an eagle on the par-5 15th hole in the previous two rounds.

“I am excited to play with them (Hoey, Carlos and Delos Reyes) in the Putra Cup,” Zaragosa said. “I think we have a pretty good chance.”

The Philippines last hosted the Putra Cup in 2007 and won the event for the last time in 1996 in Myanmar.

Follow Us

Follow us on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on Twitter

Recent Stories:

Complete stories on our Digital Edition newsstand for tablets, netbooks and mobile phones; 14-issue free trial. About to step out? Get breaking alerts on your mobile.phone. Text ON INQ BREAKING to 4467, for Globe, Smart and Sun subscribers in the Philippines.

Tags: Philippine Amateur Closed championship , Rupert Zaragosa

Copyright © 2014, .
To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.
Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:
c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City, Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94


  • Seabed search for missing Malaysian jet to widen
  • Lacson rejects calls to name ‘pork’ execs
  • Obama due in Seoul as North Korea nuclear test fears grow
  • Hold departure order out vs Corona, Singson
  • Malaysia to release MH370 report–PM
  • Sports

  • Michael Phelps loses to Lochte in comeback meet
  • Sharapova advances to Stuttgart quarterfinals
  • Galedo caps ride of redemption
  • Beermen, Express dispute second semis slot today
  • Lady Agilas upset Lady Bulldogs in four sets
  • Lifestyle

  • ‘Recovered’ Banksy works on display ahead of sale
  • Marinduque: Visiting the ‘palm of the ocean’
  • First at Vatican in 60 years
  • How Jing Monis Salon gave Krissy the pixie
  • Want to be a supermodel? Work on your inner beauty, says Joey Espino
  • Entertainment

  • Paul McCartney to play at Candlestick concert
  • Kristoffer Martin: from thug to gay teen
  • Has Ai Ai fallen deeply with ‘sireno?’
  • California court won’t review Jackson doctor case
  • Cris Villonco on play adapted from different medium
  • Business

  • PAL hailed for ban on shark fin cargo
  • BSP to change tint of P100 bill
  • Nielsen sees car buying boom in the Philippines
  • How author of best-seller exposed ‘one percent’ economic elite
  • Bangko Sentral readies new bank lending rules
  • Technology

  • Cloud strength helps Microsoft earnings top Street
  • Vatican announces hashtag for April 27 canonizations
  • Enrile in Masters of the Universe, Lord of the Rings?
  • Top Traits of Digital Marketers
  • No truth to viral no-visa ‘chronicles’
  • Opinion

  • Corruption not invincible after all
  • Editorial Cartoon, April 25, 2014
  • No deal, Janet
  • Like making Al Capone a witness vs his gang
  • MERS-CoV and mothers
  • Global Nation

  • China welcomes PH apology
  • Only 4 Etihad passengers not accounted for
  • Abandoned in Malta,15 PH seamen return
  • Senator hopes PH will also get same vow
  • HK victims to get P115M; traders raised money
  • Marketplace