Another Sabal gains 37th Milo race finals slot


THREE-TIME winner Cresenciano Sabal and Janice Tawagin led the latest list of finals qualifiers after ruling the 37th National Milo Marathon in San Pablo, Laguna yesterday.

The 34-year-old Sabal topped the 21K elimination in one hour, 17 minutes and 11 seconds.  Johnny Espana  was runner-up in 1:17:38 while another veteran runner, Bernardo Desamito Jr., placed third in 1:19:01.

In the distaff side, 22-year-old Tawagin won in 1:33:01, outlasting Sabal’s spouse Ailene Tolentino (1:36:37) and Marilyn Bermundo (1:42:43).  Tawagin was last year’s top female qualifier in Lipa City.

Both winners received P10,000 and tickets to the December National Finals, where the top local finishers will earn slots to the 2014 Paris Marathon.

Aside from his wife, Sabal will also be joined in the Finals by brother Gerald who topped the Lipa leg two weeks ago.  Romina S. Austria

Get Inquirer updates while on the go, add us on these apps:

Inquirer Viber

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.

Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:

c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City,Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94


editors' picks



latest videos