Latest Stories

Army leads crack field in Shakey’s V-L Open


Some of the finest players that the past decade has seen in the Shakey’s V-League will be in the limelight anew in the Open Conference starting Aug. 18 at Filoil Flying V Arena in San Juan.

Philippine Army headlines a formidable field with a star-studded roster that includes Nene Bautista, MJ Balse,  Michelle Carolino and Rachel Anne Daquis, who bagged Finals Most Valuable Player  honors when the Lady Troopers captured the title two years ago.

Easily the team to beat, Army also has veterans in Patricia SIatan-Torres, Genie Sabas, Joanne Buñag, Marietta Carolino, Jacqueline Alarca, Cristina Salak, Jovelyn Gonzaga, Dahlia Cruz, Angela Nuñag and Ma. Therea Iratay.

Smart-Maynilad is expected to give Army a run for the title won last year by Sandugo, while Cagayan Province and Meralco all loom as darkhorses in the season-ending tournament.

Air Force, Navy, Philippine National Police and Far Eastern U are also hoping to make their presence felt in the tournament.

Previous finals MVPs will also be in action, including Maureen Penetrante-Ouano (Meralco), Rhea Dimaculangan (Air Force), Ferrer and De los Santos.

Smart will have a squad powered by current and former Ateneo stars in Alyssa Valdez, Sue Roces and Charo Soriano, who are joining forces with University of Santo Tomas’ Maru Banaticla and La Salle ace libero Melissa Gohing.

Cagayan Province, which finished runner-up last year, hopes for a triumphant ending this time with a team built around UST aces Aiza Maizo and Angeli Tabaquero

Penetrante-Ouano will be at the forefront of Meralco’s bid.

Follow Us

Follow us on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on Twitter

Recent Stories:

Complete stories on our Digital Edition newsstand for tablets, netbooks and mobile phones; 14-issue free trial. About to step out? Get breaking alerts on your mobile.phone. Text ON INQ BREAKING to 4467, for Globe, Smart and Sun subscribers in the Philippines.

Tags: Shakey's V-League , Volleyball

Copyright © 2014, .
To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.
Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:
c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City, Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94


  • Ex-COA chief nabbed for plunder
  • John Paul relics abound: Bloodied shirt, unwashed fork…
  • Name names, Lacson told
  • Smooth Edsa ride up in 2 years, but…
  • Obama: US will defend Japan vs China
  • Sports

  • Sharapova advances to Stuttgart quarterfinals
  • Galedo caps ride of redemption
  • Beermen, Express dispute second semis slot today
  • Lady Agilas upset Lady Bulldogs in four sets
  • NLEX roars to 7th D-League win
  • Lifestyle

  • Marinduque: Visiting the ‘palm of the ocean’
  • First at Vatican in 60 years
  • How Jing Monis Salon gave Krissy the pixie
  • Want to be a supermodel? Work on your inner beauty, says Joey Espino
  • Denims that keep you cool–literally
  • Entertainment

  • Kristoffer Martin: from thug to gay teen
  • Has Ai Ai fallen deeply with ‘sireno?’
  • California court won’t review Jackson doctor case
  • Cris Villonco on play adapted from different medium
  • OMB exec’s assurance: We work 24/7
  • Business

  • Nielsen sees car buying boom in the Philippines
  • How author of best-seller exposed ‘one percent’ economic elite
  • Bangko Sentral readies new bank lending rules
  • Gaming stocks gain, PSEi eases on profit-taking
  • Cebu Pacific flew 3.74M passengers as of March
  • Technology

  • Vatican announces hashtag for April 27 canonizations
  • Enrile in Masters of the Universe, Lord of the Rings?
  • Top Traits of Digital Marketers
  • No truth to viral no-visa ‘chronicles’
  • ‘Unlimited’ Internet promos not really limitless; lawmakers call for probe
  • Opinion

  • Editorial Cartoon, April 25, 2014
  • No deal, Janet
  • Like making Al Capone a witness vs his gang
  • MERS-CoV and mothers
  • A graduation story
  • Global Nation

  • Senator hopes PH will also get same vow
  • HK victims to get P115M; traders raised money
  • Afghan hospital guard kills 3 US doctors, including Fil-Am pediatrician
  • Career diplomat is new PH consul general in Los Angeles
  • US4GG: Aquino should ask Obama for TPS approval, drone technology
  • Marketplace