LGBA stag derby champ known today


New battlestags will be fielded as the championship round of Luzon Gamecock Breeders Association (LGBA) Stagwars 7-Stag Derby bannering more than 100 fights unfolds at 1 p.m. today at Pasay City Cockpit.

Ten participants from a field of 108 pace the derby with three wins each. They are 2012 LGBA Breeder of the Year Jessie Perez, Las Piñas Mayor Nene Aguilar, Honey Yu, Arman Santos, Bok de Jesus, Nestor Vendivil, John Liao, Nelson Uy, Raymond Burgos and Rikki Reyes.

Within striking distance with 2.5 points each are six breeders, led by Val Bertes of Subic.

A guaranteed prize of at least P1 million awaits the winners of the derby supported by Sagupaan Complexor 3000, B-Meg Integra, Amtyl, Salto Gamefowl Feeds, Supremo, Thunderbird and Recharge.

LGBA president Boyet Plaza said the 3-stag eliminations on Monday will still be part of the first leg but only blue LGBA wingbands can be fielded. The 4-stag finals is on Sept. 13.

Meanwhile, PCC will also host the annual Pasay Sagupaan Big Event 8-Stag Derby on Aug. 30 and Sept. 2, with Rep. Patrick Antonio, Eric dela Rosa and Butchoy Olano as hosts.

Get Inquirer updates while on the go, add us on these apps:

Inquirer Viber

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.

Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:

c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City,Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94


editors' picks



latest videos