Latest Stories

Del Rosario, Miranda pace WC nat’l finals

VETERAN internationalist Liza del Rosario and national bowler Raoul Miranda lead the second batch of national finalists in the 2013 Bowling World Cup competition held recently in 13 different centers.

Miranda recorded a 12-game series of 2747 pinfalls to pace Richie Poblete (2669), Mar Serac (2637), Jeremy Posadas (2630), Jeff Carabeo (2470), Jay Catolico (2467), Paulo Valdez (2463) and Benshir Layoso (2461) in the men’s division.

Del Rosario  rolled 2193 pinfalls to pace  Lara Posadas (1989) and Rachelle de Leon (1902) in the ladies’ group.

The second batch of finalists will join other bowlers who made it to the national finals in the first qualifying round.

The men’s and ladies’ finalists will dispute the right to represent the Philippines in the 49th Bowling World Cup international finals scheduled Nov. 15 to 24 at Sibiryak Center in Kransanoyarsk, Russia.

Busan Asian Games gold medalist and national bowler Krizziah Tabora carried the Philippine colors in last year’s international finals in Wroclaw, Poland.  Tabora landed in 14th place while Bautista finished 34th.

The second batch of finalists:             Men—Raoul Miranda, Richie Poblete, Jeremy Posadas, Paulo Valdez, Benshir Layoso, Allen Laigo, Robert Mallillin, Alvin Calderon, Jun Gella, Rene Rodelas, Jay Catolico, Vlad Tuazon, John Mendoza, Caloy Guttones, Ronnie Javier, Simple Villajin, Ben Pacheco, Tony Fernando, Mar Serac, J. Em Ang, Archie See, Anton Alcazaren, Jeff Carabeo, Sarry Macalalad, Willy Ng, Butch Samonte, Rodel Bagohin, Edwin Velayo, Raul Cortez, Tommy Eusebio, James Joseph Santos, Kurt Mendoza, Jorel Simbulan, Alex Bea, Toti Daval Santos, Bien Dollente, Mel Garcia, Francis de Leon, Raul Imperial, Emman Bagting, Benshir Layoso, Eric Aranez, Jun Garcia and Walvine Rata; Ladies—Liza del Rosario, Rachelle de Leon, Allen Joy Laigo, Jaymee Calderon, Anne Iteralde, Cita Yumul, Maan Catolico, Merlie Bonete, Perla Pacheco, Pops Maulion, Carol Fernando, Hermie Otrera, Apple Posadas, Gina Varilla, Lara Posadas, Pinky Buenaflor, Alyssa dela Rosa, Mary Joy Dellomas, Leah Plucena, Linda Bagalay, Rose Avena, Christie Camba, Farah Onasa, Jennie Manabat, Susan Viray and Saron Joan Luzon

Follow Us

Follow us on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on Twitter

Recent Stories:

Complete stories on our Digital Edition newsstand for tablets, netbooks and mobile phones; 14-issue free trial. About to step out? Get breaking alerts on your mobile.phone. Text ON INQ BREAKING to 4467, for Globe, Smart and Sun subscribers in the Philippines.

Tags: 2013 Bowling World Cup , Bowling

Copyright © 2014, .
To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.
Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:
c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City, Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94
  1. Vietnam says it will not host Asian Games
  2. Pacquiao back in PH, heads home to wife, kids
  3. Manny Pacquiao in PBA? If so, he’ll wear No. 17
  4. Duke freshman declares for NBA draft
  5. Power Pinays smash India in Asian Women’s Club volleyball opener
  6. Freddie Roach: I’m satisfied; Manny Pacquiao did well
  7. Federer would skip tennis to be with wife, newborn
  8. Nadal passes clay landmark with 300th victory
  9. Ginebra’s new import Freeman arrives, makes PBA return vs ROS
  10. After Pacquiao, BIR chief Henares runs after boxing fans
  1. ‘Mommy D’ steals show as son fights
  2. Pacquiao wins unanimous decision vs Bradley to reclaim WBO title
  3. Pacquiao: I’m ready for Mayweather bout
  4. Manny Pacquiao: I’ll have everything back
  5. Mommy Dionisia explains ‘vodoo’ act vs Bradley
  6. Pacquiao punching power ‘way harder’ in first fight—Bradley
  7. Wrestling star Ultimate Warrior’s cause of death revealed
  8. My ideal weight is 140, declares Pacquiao
  9. Pacquiao ‘strong, faster’ for tiff
  10. Bradley to Pacquiao: You better be ready
  1. ‘Mommy D’ steals show as son fights
  2. Pacquiao wins unanimous decision vs Bradley to reclaim WBO title
  3. Pacquiao: I’m ready for Mayweather bout
  4. Mayweather surprise visitor to Bradley camp
  5. Bradley won’t last distance– Peñalosa
  6. Manny Pacquiao: I’ll have everything back
  7. Mommy Dionisia explains ‘vodoo’ act vs Bradley
  8. Pacquiao punching power ‘way harder’ in first fight—Bradley
  9. Wrestling star Ultimate Warrior’s cause of death revealed
  10. Tapering off: Pacquiao already at 147 lb


  • Vice principal saved from Korea ferry found hanged
  • Boat capsizes in Indonesia; 7 dead, 30 rescued
  • Suspected militant, son killed in Thailand’s south
  • Iran mother spares life of son’s killer after campaign
  • Japan to hunt fewer whales in Pacific this season
  • Sports

  • Pacquiao shorts in Bradley fight sold for P1.7M in LA auction
  • Ryu pitches Dodgers past Giants
  • Alonso sets the pace in Chinese GP practice
  • Heat seek Three-peat but Spurs, Pacers top seeds
  • Can Spurs get back at Heat? Can they survive West?
  • Lifestyle

  • Levine designs womenswear with help from fiancee
  • Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Nobel laureate, dies at 87
  • Ford Mustang turns 50 atop Empire State Building
  • Pro visual artists, lensmen to judge Pagcor’s photo contest
  • ‘Labahita a la bacalao’
  • Entertainment

  • EXO postpones release of mini album ‘Overdose’
  • ‘X-men’ filmmaker slams ‘fabricated’ sex attack claims
  • Singer Chris Brown’s bodyguard on trial in DC
  • Whoopi Goldberg debuts as marijuana columnist
  • ‘X-men’ director accused of sex assault on teen boy
  • Business

  • Italy sells luxury state cars on eBay
  • Asian shares mostly up in quiet trade
  • Dollar up in Asia on US jobs data, Ukraine deal
  • Barbie doll has a problem
  • Oil prices mixed ahead of long Easter weekend
  • Technology

  • Nokia recalls 30,000 chargers for Lumia 2520 tablet
  • Facebook rolls out ‘nearby friends’ feature
  • Netizens seethe over Aquino’s ‘sacrifice’ message
  • Filipinos #PrayForSouthKorea
  • Taylor Swift tries video blogging, crashes into fan’s bridal shower
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, April 17, 2014
  • A humbler Church
  • Deepest darkness
  • ‘Agnihotra’ for Earth’s health
  • It’s the Holy Week, time to think of others
  • Global Nation

  • DoH denies Filipino nurse no longer positive for MERS virus
  • WHO warns vs spread of MERS-Cov, urges vigilance in taking precautions
  • Last call for nominations to ’14 Presidential Awards
  • San Francisco business coalition slams proposed tax on sugary drinks
  • A ‘time-travel’ production of ‘Les Miserable’ at Stanford
  • Marketplace