Camson willing to apologize to Almazan, says elbow wasn't intentional | Inquirer Sports
Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Close  
  • share this

Camson willing to apologize to Almazan, says elbow wasn’t intentional

/ 08:52 PM January 20, 2018

Eric Camson vs Raymond Almazan. PBA IMAGES

Kia big man Eric Camson said he was merely getting in position for a rebound it wasn’t his intention to hit Rain or Shine center Raymond Almazan with an elbow that triggered an ugly fight on Saturday.

While fighting for positioning in the shaded area, Camson landed an elbow to the face of Almazan, who quickly retaliated with his own.

The situation escalated after Camson caught Almazan with a punch in the face before players and referees stepped in to restore order.

ADVERTISEMENT

READ: PBA: Almazan, Camson ejected after trading punches 

“It wasn’t intended. The replay will show that I wasn’t going for his face and I was just boxing out,” Camson told reporters in Filipino after the game. “I hit him and it was something unavoidable. Then he got back at me and it was just my pride at that point.”

Both got ejected after being slapped with a flagrant foul penalty 2.

Kia came into the game having lost 16 straight games dating back to last season and Camson said all the losing was a reason for how he handled the situation.

“I didn’t like what happened. I guess I just wanted to win so bad because we’re really tired of losing. We don’t want them (Rain or Shine) to make a run because we know that once they do, we’ll lose our morale,” said Camson, who had 10 points, five rebounds and four assists in a 98-94 victory.

READ: PBA: Kia halts 16-game skid, upsets Rain or Shine

The two got into a heated verbal exchange along the Cuneta Astrodome hallway on their way to their respective dugouts but after the game, Camson said he has no problems apologizing to Almazan first.

“Being the younger player, I’ll be the one to approach him. I don’t see any problems with that because we’re all playing in the same league and we all have the same job,” he said. “I never wanted any of that to happen. I’m a man and I got hit.”

ADVERTISEMENT

Almazan declined to give interviews to the media after the game.

PBA Office-In-Charge Willie Marcial said he will summon both players on Tuesday.

Camson plans to use the meeting to apologize to Marcial and Almazan for his actions.

“I will respect the league’s decision and I am willing to ask for forgiveness and apologize to sir Willie and Raymond.”

Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Basketball, Eric Camson, fight, PBA, Raymond Almazan, Sports
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.


© Copyright 1997-2018 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.