Tigresses bolster Shakey’s V-League 9 cast


UNIVERSITY of Santo Tomas returns to the Shakey’s V-League, hoping to increase their record haul of six titles when Season 9 unfolds April 24 at the FilOil-Flying V Arena.

The Tigresses, whose last title came two years ago before they took a leave of absence from the league, loom as one of the favorites in a tournament seen as one of the most competitive since the league started.

Ateneo will be back to defend its title against a crack field that also include  former champions Adamson and San Sebastian, NCAA titlist Perpetual Help and another returning team, Letran.

Far Eastern U, National U and Visayan teams University of St. La Salle of Bacolod and Southwestern University of Cebu complete the formidable 10-team cast.

“This is going to be a wide-open race,” said Ricky Palou, president of the organizing Sports Vision. “All teams have got what it takes to win. The return of UST makes it doubly interesting.”

The field is divided into two groups with the top four teams after a single round  elimination in each bracket advancing to the quarterfinal stage.

The Tigresses, with coach Odjie Mamon now at the helm after replacing Shaq delos Santos last year, will pin their hopes on former Most Valuable Player Mary Jean Balse and Thai ace Patcharee Sangmuang as guest players.

Maru Banaticla, Judy Caballejo, Maika Ortiz and skipper Rhea Dimaculangan are still around to carry the fight for the Tigresses in the tournament sponsored by Shakey’s Pizza and backed by Mikasa and Accel.

Ateneo has recalled Thai guest player Lithawat Kesinee to team up with Alyssa Valdez, Gretchen Ho, Dzi Gervacio, Fille Cainglet, Jem Ferrer and defensive specialist Denden Lazaro.

Reinforced by former stars Janet Serafica and Nene Bautista, the Lady Falcons will also count on Pau Soriano, Sheila Pineda, Jampong Quinlog, and Angelica Vasquez.

A prominent fixture in the league the past five years, Thai ace Jeng Bualee is still the top choice for the Lady Stags as reinforcement along with Ruby De Leon. Skipper Karen Berbano, Dafna Robiños, Mae Crisostomo, Michelle Gerona and veteran Joy Benito

NCAA MVP Sandra delos Santos will banner Perpetual’s campaign, along with Honey Royce Tubino, Janice Abar, Angelique Dionela and Kath Bulatao

Letran will have NCAA standouts Lalaine Anne Villarin, Manel Carolino, Justyne Mae Tadeo, Gena Andaya and Angelica Santos while La Salle hopes to at least match its surprising third-place finish last year.

Get Inquirer updates while on the go, add us on these apps:

Inquirer Viber

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.

Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:

c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City,Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94


editors' picks



latest videos