Latest Stories

Peping Cojuangco, allies rule POC polls


Four more years with Peping Cojuangco.

MANILA, Philippines — Jose “Peping” Cojuangco Jr. officially earned a fresh four-year mandate as president of the Philippine Olympic Committee Friday.

Without any challenger, Cojuangco won a third straight term as POC chief, getting 32 votes from the 42 voting members during the elections held at Alabang Country Club.

“I’m given another four years and I want to make sure that this last four years as president of the POC, I could finally produce the result the people are expecting,” said Cojuangco, who will lead the POC until the 2016 Olympic Games in Rio De Janeiro.

It was a landslide victory for Cojuangco’s ticket, with Tom Carrasco of triathlon elected chair over POC chair Monico Puentevella, 21-18, and Joey Romasanta claiming the job of Manny Lopez as 1st vice president, 24-16.

“For the future of Philippine sports, we’ll cooperate with the result of the election and accept the decision of the majority,” said Lopez.

Jeff Tamayo of soft tennis was named 2nd VP over cycling chief and Tagaytay City mayor Abraham Tolentino, 24-15; POC treasurer Julian Camacho of wushu retained his post with 28 votes against Romeo Ribano’s (squash) 12.

Prospero Pichay of chess defeated Godofredo Galindez of golf, 28-12, as auditor while Cynthia Carrion of gymnastics (28 votes), Dave Carter of judo (29), Jonne Go of canoe-kayak (29) and Ernesto Echauz of sailing (23) earned seats in the executive board.

Follow Us

Follow us on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on Twitter

Recent Stories:

Complete stories on our Digital Edition newsstand for tablets, netbooks and mobile phones; 14-issue free trial. About to step out? Get breaking alerts on your mobile.phone. Text ON INQ BREAKING to 4467, for Globe, Smart and Sun subscribers in the Philippines.

Tags: Jose "Peping" Cojuangco Jr. , Philippine Olympic Committee , POC

  • captainramius

    For the record Peping Cojuangco elected POC President 2004, re elected 2008 and now reelected 2012.  By the time he ended his 12 year 3 term presidency he will have presided 
    3 olympic games 
    2008 Beijing China =   zero medals 
    2012 London UK    =   zero medals
    2016 Rio Brazil      =   ???

    As it take decades to produce a medalist in today olympic competition we will most likely end up with zero medals also in Brazil.  But what the hell Peping got his 3 term wish and he as a veteran politician and his minions in POC are not there to win medals they are only for participation and the chance of a lifetime of a junket courtesy of our money to the Olympic Games.

  • http://pulse.yahoo.com/_2JVSEXTMANAEZGLOSZGWJYW67Q Jess

    Meron ka pa bang ibubuga, Mr. President? Matagal na kaming naghihintay ng “miracle” kasi it is only a MIRACLE that can can transform our ailing sports in the PHilippines. Please do not do the same thing again and again, even if you try it better this time. Try something different. ONly a mad man will do the same thing over and over again and expect different results.

Copyright © 2014, .
To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.
Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:
c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City, Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94
  1. Vietnam says it will not host Asian Games
  2. Pacquiao back in PH, heads home to wife, kids
  3. Manny Pacquiao in PBA? If so, he’ll wear No. 17
  4. Duke freshman declares for NBA draft
  5. Power Pinays smash India in Asian Women’s Club volleyball opener
  6. Freddie Roach: I’m satisfied; Manny Pacquiao did well
  7. Federer would skip tennis to be with wife, newborn
  8. Nadal passes clay landmark with 300th victory
  9. Ginebra’s new import Freeman arrives, makes PBA return vs ROS
  10. After Pacquiao, BIR chief Henares runs after boxing fans
  1. ‘Mommy D’ steals show as son fights
  2. Pacquiao wins unanimous decision vs Bradley to reclaim WBO title
  3. Pacquiao: I’m ready for Mayweather bout
  4. Manny Pacquiao: I’ll have everything back
  5. Mommy Dionisia explains ‘vodoo’ act vs Bradley
  6. Pacquiao punching power ‘way harder’ in first fight—Bradley
  7. Wrestling star Ultimate Warrior’s cause of death revealed
  8. My ideal weight is 140, declares Pacquiao
  9. Pacquiao ‘strong, faster’ for tiff
  10. Pacquiao survives sneaky haymaker in 4th round
  1. ‘Mommy D’ steals show as son fights
  2. Pacquiao wins unanimous decision vs Bradley to reclaim WBO title
  3. Pacquiao: I’m ready for Mayweather bout
  4. Mayweather surprise visitor to Bradley camp
  5. Bradley won’t last distance– Peñalosa
  6. Manny Pacquiao: I’ll have everything back
  7. Mommy Dionisia explains ‘vodoo’ act vs Bradley
  8. Pacquiao punching power ‘way harder’ in first fight—Bradley
  9. Wrestling star Ultimate Warrior’s cause of death revealed
  10. Tapering off: Pacquiao already at 147 lb


  • US teacher fired over comment on black president
  • Magnitude-7.5 earthquake shakes Mexican capital
  • Title of new Hillary Clinton book: ‘Hard Choices’
  • Filipinos, Dutch re-enact crucifixion of Christ
  • 14 killed in car bombing in Homs
  • Sports

  • Nadal ousted by Ferrer in Monte Carlo quarters
  • Pacquiao shorts in Bradley fight sold for P1.7M in LA auction
  • Ryu pitches Dodgers past Giants
  • Alonso sets the pace in Chinese GP practice
  • Heat seek Three-peat but Spurs, Pacers top seeds
  • Lifestyle

  • Levine designs womenswear with help from fiancee
  • Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Nobel laureate, dies at 87
  • Ford Mustang turns 50 atop Empire State Building
  • Pro visual artists, lensmen to judge Pagcor’s photo contest
  • ‘Labahita a la bacalao’
  • Entertainment

  • Myx TV premieres Asian American ‘docu-series’
  • A nutty finale for ‘Scandal,’ TV’s craziest show
  • EXO postpones release of mini album ‘Overdose’
  • ‘X-men’ filmmaker slams ‘fabricated’ sex attack claims
  • Singer Chris Brown’s bodyguard on trial in DC
  • Business

  • US commerce secretary spells out economic facet of ‘pivot to Asia’
  • Italy sells luxury state cars on eBay
  • Asian shares mostly up in quiet trade
  • Dollar up in Asia on US jobs data, Ukraine deal
  • Barbie doll has a problem
  • Technology

  • Nasa’s moon-orbiting robot crashes down
  • Netizens pay respects to Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Nokia recalls 30,000 chargers for Lumia 2520 tablet
  • Facebook rolls out ‘nearby friends’ feature
  • Netizens seethe over Aquino’s ‘sacrifice’ message
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, April 17, 2014
  • A humbler Church
  • Deepest darkness
  • ‘Agnihotra’ for Earth’s health
  • It’s the Holy Week, time to think of others
  • Global Nation

  • Las Vegas ‘Pinoy Pride’ fest hails Filipino heritage
  • Marking Jesus’ journey on Good Friday
  • Filipina accomplice arrested for fake bills in Malaysia
  • DoH denies Filipino nurse no longer positive for MERS virus
  • WHO warns vs spread of MERS-Cov, urges vigilance in taking precautions
  • Marketplace