Tan seeks Touring Car, top driver crowns


The championship leg of the Philippine Touring Car Championship Series comes to an exciting climax this weekend at Batangas Racing Circuit, with  Willian Tan setting his sights on the Driver of the Year Award.

Tan, who posted runner-up and two fourth place finishes in the third leg last month, has 122 points to pace Division 1 (for 200hp cars) and stay on course for the Automobile Association of the Philippines (AAP) top plum.

Defending champion Joey Pery and Uly Maningding trail with 98 and 90 points, respectively.  There are 60 points at stake in Races 10 to 12.

If Pery or Maningding score a sweep, Tan should come up with at least a runner-up finish and two third place feats to assure himself of the overall Division 1 crown.

Leo San Juan leads Division 2  with 139 points, 9 points ahead of Jeff Borja (130), who swept all three races in the last leg.  Steve Silva, Contributor

Get Inquirer updates while on the go, add us on these apps:

Inquirer Viber

Disclaimer: The comments uploaded on this site do not necessarily represent or reflect the views of management and owner of We reserve the right to exclude comments that we deem to be inconsistent with our editorial standards.

To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.

Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:

c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City,Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94