Sunday, April 22, 2018
  • share this

Lady Bulldogs oust Tigresses

By: - Reporter / @jwpayoINQ
/ 11:31 PM February 20, 2013

National University claimed the last semifinal berth in women’s volleyball, while University of the Philippines forged a winner-take-all for the remaining title slot in women’s tennis in separate UAAP action yesterday.

Cai Nepomuceno shone as the Lady Bulldogs shocked the favored University of Santo Tomas, 25-19, 21-25, 25-16, 25-23, yesterday to advance to the women’s volleyball Final Four for the first time.

Nepomuceno fired 23 points, capped by the game-winning kill, to power the Lady Bulldogs in the knockout duel at Filoil Flying V Arena in San Juan.


Dindin Santiago also delivered five blocks in a 21-point outing and veteran libero Jen Reyes had 11 digs in the upset of the Tigresses, the traditional powerhouse who will miss the Final Four for the first time in 10 years.

Defending champion La Salle, whose lone loss came against the Tigresses, will clash with the Lady Bulldogs at the start of the semifinals at 2 p.m. on Saturday at Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Ateneo, which totes a twice-to-beat edge like La Salle, battles Adamson in the other semifinal duel at 3:30 p.m.

In women’s tennis, the Lady Maroons forged a winner-take-all for the last title berth after dealing the Lady Archers their first loss of the season, 3-2, at the end of eliminations at Rizal Memorial Tennis Center.

UP wound up sharing the second spot with UST at 5-3, leaving the two teams to dispute the last finals slot in a do-or-die contest tomorrow.

The winner will advance against the Lady Archers (7-1) in the the best-of-three championship starting Sunday.

Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Lady Bulldogs, Tennis, UAAP
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved