Tuesday, May 22, 2018
  • share this

De La Salle-Lipa dominates 14th NCAA South table tennis championships

By: - Reporter / @MarkGiongcoINQ
/ 05:44 PM February 25, 2013

MANILA, Philippines—De La Salle-Lipa stamped its class as it topped the men and women’s table tennis championships in the 14th NCAA South at the San Beda College Alabang gym in Muntinlupa City.

Paolo Naguit and Jonathan Sauz of La Salle-Lipa took out Melchisedec Arzagor and Louis Jerome Hayana of University of Perpetual Help-Laguna via straight sets, 11-8, 11-7, 11-4, that gave La Salle a 2-1 win to clinch the men’s title.

Perpetual grabbed a 1-0 headstart after Jonah David Sabado edged Albert Malayba, 11-8, 7-11, 11-8, 5-11, 11-8, in a back and forth opening singles match.


Lou Abdon tied the count at 1-all after beating Christian Reyes, 11-5, 10-13, 11-8, 11-5, that led to the deciding doubles match.

La Salle-Lipa and Perpetual Help-Laguna also crossed paths in the women’s division with the former coming out on top anew, 2-1.

Joy Piedad and Lyka Millarez sealed the win for the Lady Green Chevrons with a grueling 13-11, 11-8, 7-11, 8-11, 11-7 triumph over Perpetual Help’s tandem of Hannah Mae Bayan and Camille Planilla.

La Salle-Lipa though, could not complete a four-division sweep with its boys and girls squads falling to different rivals in the finals.

University of Batangas seized the boys title, 2-1, while Perpetual Help ruled in the girls division, 2-1.

Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: De La Salle-Lipa, NCAA, Sports, table tennis
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2018 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved