NLEX cruises past Cagayan for its fourth PBA D-League title in a row

By |

Ian Sangalang was named as the conference’s MVP. PBA IMAGES

MANILA, Philippines—NLEX held off Cagayan Valley late to win, 82-71, and sweep their best-of-three Finals series for its fourth straight PBA D-League title at the FilOil Flying V Arena in San Juan.

The Road Warriors zoomed to a 19-2 start before staving off a furious fightback by the Rising Suns, who pulled to within seven early in the fourth period.

“I’m just lucky I have a very supportive management. This championship is for them and credit to my boys,” said head coach Boyet Fernandez.

Garvo Lanete led NLEX with 17 points and seven rebounds.

Ian Sangalang, who collected nine points, seven rebounds and four blocks, was named as the conference’s MVP.

Follow Us

Recent Stories:

Complete stories on our Digital Edition newsstand for tablets, netbooks and mobile phones; 14-issue free trial. About to step out? Get breaking alerts on your mobile.phone. Text ON INQ BREAKING to 4467, for Globe, Smart and Sun subscribers in the Philippines.

  • archerfan

    another championship bought by mvp.  next.

Copyright © 2014, .
To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.
Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:
c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City, Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94