Thursday, June 21, 2018
  • share this

Red Cubs nip Hope Christians, bag title

Seaoil NBTC caging
By: - Reporter / @jwpayoINQ
/ 10:21 PM March 03, 2013

EXTREME 97 San Beda survived its toughest test of the tournament, needing extra time to down Mako Hope Christian High School, 100-96, and rule the Seaoil NBTC National High School championship yesterday at Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig.

After blasting all their opponents in the early rounds, the Red Cubs needed the heroics of Arvin Tolentino, Rev Diputado and Javee Mocon to slip past the Tiong Lian champions in their one-game title showdown.

Tolentino unloaded 20 points, including a crucial reverse layup that pushed the Red Cubs ahead, 98-96, with eight seconds left in overtime before Mocon added two free throws to finalize the scoring and finish with 17.


Diputado sent the game into overtime at 90-all with an undergoal shot with 15.3 ticks remaining. He wound up with 18 points.

Rey Nambatac earlier powered the All-Star Light past All-Star Dark, 92-78, in an exhibition match featuring some of the country’s top high school players.

Nambatac, the former NCAA juniors MVP from Letran, fired 20 points on top of six rebounds, six assists and five steals, while Reggie Morido and Axel Iñigo chipped in 15 points each.

The Red Cubs, the four-time NCAA juniors champions, looked headed for another blowout win after jumping to a 16-6 start and leading by as many as 21, 29-8, right in the first quarter.

But Hope’s Jose Go IV, catching fire from three-point range in the second period, trimmed the Red Cubs’ lead to 49-38 at halftime and then teamed up with Clint Doliguez and Arjan Dela Cruz in a huge third-quarter run where they outscored San Beda, 26-13, to take the lead for the first time, 64-62.

Go came away with a game-high 33 points.

Doliguez, who added 22 points for the Hope Christians, was named the tournament MVP and joined teammate John Apacible, San Beda’s Andrei Caracut, Finals MVP Tolentino and Smart Iloilo’s Paul Calvo in the Mythical Team.

The two finalists disposed of two provincial teams in the Final Four with San Beda drubbing Smart Iloilo, 101-67, and Hope turning back Maynilad Cebu, 73-66.


The scores:

First Game (All-Stars)

ALL-STAR LIGHT 92—Nambatac 20, Morido 15, Iñigo 15, Delfinado 9, Bayquin 9, Doliguez 7, Paras 4, Villoria 4, Young 3, Busa 2, Bartolome 2, Desiderio 2, Manguilimotan 0, Andico 0.

ALL-STAR DARK 78—Bonleon 16, Pingoy 11, Margallo 10, Diego 7, Macasaet 6, Lao 6, Peromingan 6, Adorio 4, Dela Cruz 3, Araw-Araw 3, Atangan 2, Domingo 2, Quinto 2, Agustin 0, Egan 0.

Quarters: 23-23, 44-36, 61-67, 92-78

Second Game (Finals)

SAN BEDA 100—Tolentino 20, Diputado 18, Mocon 17, Caracut 9, Abatayo 8, Abuda 8, Abude 8, Furaque 6, Tongco 5, Gumtang 1.

HOPE CHRISTIAN 96—Go 33, Doliguez 22, Dela Cruz 12, Villanueva 11, Guion 8, Apacible 8, Nuñez 2, Galoso 0.

Quarters: 29-8, 49-38, 62-64, 90-90 (reg), 100-96 (OT)

Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Seaoil NBTC National High School Championship
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.