Latest Stories

PSA Milo Junior Athletes award for 2 young swimmers


AXEL Toni Ngui and Kirsten Chloe Daos, two swimmers who made waves in separate national events, will be honored as the Milo Junior Athletes of the Year during the PSA-Milo Annual Awards Night this Saturday at the Centennial Hall of Manila Hotel.

Now a college freshman at Ateneo, Ngui captured seven gold medals for the National Capital Region in last year’s Palarong Pambansa where he also emerged as the Most Outstanding Athlete.

Ngui, who represented Xavier School, ruled the 100-, 200- and 400-meter freestyle, 100m backstroke and 100m butterfly, and was part of the winning NCR team in the 400m free relay and 400m medley relay of the pool competition in Lingayen, Pangasinan.

Months later, the 18-year-old Ngui also powered Ateneo to its first UAAP men’s swimming title where he picked up six golds to cop Rookie of the Year honors.

Daos shone in the Batang Pinoy National Finals last year where the 15-year-old charmer bagged six golds.

An eighth grader at Immaculate Concepcion Academy in Quezon City, Daos topped the 100- and 200-meter butterfly, 200m, 400m and 800m freestyle and added another gold in the 4x50m medley relay last December at Iloilo Sports Complex.

Daos hauled the same number of gold medals in the National Capital Region qualifier in Marikina City.

PSA president Rey Bancod of Tempo said Milo, a long-time supporter of youth sports in the country, and the country’s oldest media organization chose the swimmers to serve as model student-athletes.

Ngui and Daos join a roster of 59 sports personalities who will be feted on the gala night.

Follow Us

Follow us on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on Twitter

Other Stories:

No related posts found!

Recent Stories:

Complete stories on our Digital Edition newsstand for tablets, netbooks and mobile phones; 14-issue free trial. About to step out? Get breaking alerts on your mobile.phone. Text ON INQ BREAKING to 4467, for Globe, Smart and Sun subscribers in the Philippines.

Tags: PSA-Milo Annual Awards Night

Copyright © 2014, .
To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.
Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:
c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City, Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94


  • Australian state leader quits over $2,800 wine
  • Supremacist faces murder charges in Kansas deaths
  • Luzon grid power reserve ‘enough’ for Holy Week
  • Pimentel proposes incentives for companies that will hire ex-convicts
  • State seeks guilty verdict for Abalos
  • Sports

  • My ideal weight is 140, declares Pacquiao
  • Freddie Roach: I’m satisfied; Manny Pacquiao did well
  • New-look Azkals tie Qatari side
  • San Miguel Beermen eye No. 2 slot, battle Air21 Express
  • Filipinos yield to Iraqis anew Asian club volley
  • Lifestyle

  • Celebrate Easter Sunday at Buddha-Bar Manila
  • Moriones feast: A slow, steady transformation
  • Weaving ‘palaspas’ a tradition kept alive in Tayabas City
  • Finalists announced for best translated books
  • Summer treat for your aspiring astronomers
  • Entertainment

  • Deniece Cornejo posts bail—report
  • Miley Cyrus hospitalized, cancels US concert
  • Otaku Summer Jam 2014: Summer’s hottest J-rock/Cosplay event
  • 2NE1 returns to Manila with “All Or Nothing” Tour
  • Gary Valenciano just keeps moving
  • Business

  • Longer TRO sought on rate hike
  • Make a stylish statement with the all-new Yaris
  • Hearing set in Olarte case
  • BOC sues steel importers
  • BIR continues to miss collection target
  • Technology

  • Tech company: change passwords or suffer ‘Heartbleed’
  • Filling the digital talent gap
  • SSS to shut down website for Holy Week
  • Another reason to quit social media this Holy Week: your safety
  • Philippines may watch ‘blood moon’ online
  • Opinion

  • We may never know
  • Couple of things
  • Mommy D’s magic
  • Stop bizarre and bloody Good Friday rituals
  • Holy Week taboos
  • Global Nation

  • No travel restrictions to Middle East amid MERS-CoV scare
  • Measures set against entry of MERS-CoV
  • Japan backs PH in case before UN
  • Las Vegas union starts pickets over wages, benefits
  • Fil-Am Daly City councilor has eye on Superior Court seat
  • Marketplace