Latest Stories

Fiba Asia stint at stake for PBA D-League 3-on-3 winner


PBA Commissioner Chito Salud

MANILA, Philippines—A chance to don the country’s colors in the Fiba Asia competition this May is the ultimate prize for the champion of the PBA D-League 3-on-3 tournament, which kicked off on Monday.

The league teamed up with the Samahang Basketball ng Pilipinas (SBP) in launching this format of competition, which Commissioner Chito Salud thinks is fit for the Filipinos.

“Sa mga barangay naman, 3-on-3 at 2-on-2 ang gagaling ng Pilipino dyan. So were trying to develop that, in cooperation with the SBP,” Salud told INQUIRER.net on Monday.

Salud, though, had long planned for the PBA D-League to have this type of competition, and it was just a coincidence that Fiba Asia is having a 3-on-3 tournament this May.

“One time, I was just home watching TV and I saw clips of 3-on-3 competition abroad, and I thought it’s about time that we have this tournament,” said Salud. “Yung hindi na galing sa PBA [yung players] kasi professionals na yang mga yan eh.”

“They [SBP] said, kung sino nalang mag-champion dyan sila narin ipapadala natin sa Doha, Qatar,” Salud added.

But since the competition slated on May 15-16 coincides with the elimination round of the PBA D-League Foundation Cup, teams might have problems sending away their players.

“Kung in contention pa yung team [na mananalo] tapos ayaw nila, mamili nalang tayo ng iba,” said Salud. “That’s up to them [teams].

Earlier, Hog’s Breath, composed of Michael Lima, Jeff Morillo, Kevin Rabalo and Paul Alguno, edged Informatics, which had Eric Acuña, Mark Montuano, Jayson Ibay and Cedric Ablaza, in overtime, 14-13.

A basket from inside the arch, which is worth a point, from Lima in overtime (one minute) gave the Razorbacks the win.

Meanwhile, Cebuana Lhuillier led by Alvin Padilla, Gerard Bautista, Gian Chiu and Gab Banal defeated Kevin Alasa, Jake Pascual, Eric Camson and Garvo Lanete of NLEX, 11-10.

The other representatives are as follows: Jeff Viernes, Lucas Tagarda, Ken Acibar and Ezer Rosopa for Boracay Rum; Mark Bringas, Adrian Celada, Eliud Poligrates and Chris Eximiniano for Cagayan; Anjo Caram, Carlo Lastimosa, Jan Colina and Martin Antonio for Fruitas; Marvin Hayes, Jul Ashri Ignacio, Dennis Santos and Marlon Gomez for Jumbo Plastic; Mar Villahermosa, Mac Montilla, Mark Canlas and Terrence Romeo for Big Chill; Clark Bautista, Raymond Almazan, Jimbo Aquino and Ian Sangalang for EA Regen Med; Alfred Batino, Ryan Gallardo, Mike Parala, Alvin Abundo for Cafe France; Kevin Ferrer, Gio Ciriacruz, Robby Celiz and Bacon Austria for Blackwater.

Follow Us

Follow us on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on Twitter

Recent Stories:

Complete stories on our Digital Edition newsstand for tablets, netbooks and mobile phones; 14-issue free trial. About to step out? Get breaking alerts on your mobile.phone. Text ON INQ BREAKING to 4467, for Globe, Smart and Sun subscribers in the Philippines.

Tags: Basketball , FIBA Asia , PBA D-League , Sports

Copyright © 2014, .
To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.
Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:
c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City, Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94
  1. Vietnam says it will not host Asian Games
  2. Pacquiao back in PH, heads home to wife, kids
  3. Manny Pacquiao in PBA? If so, he’ll wear No. 17
  4. Duke freshman declares for NBA draft
  5. Power Pinays smash India in Asian Women’s Club volleyball opener
  6. Freddie Roach: I’m satisfied; Manny Pacquiao did well
  7. Federer would skip tennis to be with wife, newborn
  8. Nadal passes clay landmark with 300th victory
  9. Ginebra’s new import Freeman arrives, makes PBA return vs ROS
  10. After Pacquiao, BIR chief Henares runs after boxing fans
  1. ‘Mommy D’ steals show as son fights
  2. Pacquiao wins unanimous decision vs Bradley to reclaim WBO title
  3. Pacquiao: I’m ready for Mayweather bout
  4. Manny Pacquiao: I’ll have everything back
  5. Mommy Dionisia explains ‘vodoo’ act vs Bradley
  6. Pacquiao punching power ‘way harder’ in first fight—Bradley
  7. Wrestling star Ultimate Warrior’s cause of death revealed
  8. My ideal weight is 140, declares Pacquiao
  9. Pacquiao ‘strong, faster’ for tiff
  10. Bradley to Pacquiao: You better be ready
  1. ‘Mommy D’ steals show as son fights
  2. Pacquiao wins unanimous decision vs Bradley to reclaim WBO title
  3. Pacquiao: I’m ready for Mayweather bout
  4. Mayweather surprise visitor to Bradley camp
  5. Bradley won’t last distance– Peñalosa
  6. Manny Pacquiao: I’ll have everything back
  7. Mommy Dionisia explains ‘vodoo’ act vs Bradley
  8. Pacquiao punching power ‘way harder’ in first fight—Bradley
  9. Wrestling star Ultimate Warrior’s cause of death revealed
  10. Tapering off: Pacquiao already at 147 lb


  • French President Hollande’s top aide resigns
  • Vietnam battles fatal measles outbreak
  • Clinton White House documents set for release
  • South Korea school locked down by grief over sunken ferry
  • Ukrainian insurgents reject call to quit buildings
  • Sports

  • Pacquiao shorts in Bradley fight sold for P1.7M in LA auction
  • Ryu pitches Dodgers past Giants
  • Alonso sets the pace in Chinese GP practice
  • Heat seek Three-peat but Spurs, Pacers top seeds
  • Can Spurs get back at Heat? Can they survive West?
  • Lifestyle

  • Levine designs womenswear with help from fiancee
  • Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Nobel laureate, dies at 87
  • Ford Mustang turns 50 atop Empire State Building
  • Pro visual artists, lensmen to judge Pagcor’s photo contest
  • ‘Labahita a la bacalao’
  • Entertainment

  • EXO postpones release of mini album ‘Overdose’
  • ‘X-men’ filmmaker slams ‘fabricated’ sex attack claims
  • Singer Chris Brown’s bodyguard on trial in DC
  • Whoopi Goldberg debuts as marijuana columnist
  • ‘X-men’ director accused of sex assault on teen boy
  • Business

  • Italy sells luxury state cars on eBay
  • Asian shares mostly up in quiet trade
  • Dollar up in Asia on US jobs data, Ukraine deal
  • Barbie doll has a problem
  • Oil prices mixed ahead of long Easter weekend
  • Technology

  • Netizens pay respects to Gabriel Garcia Marquez
  • Nokia recalls 30,000 chargers for Lumia 2520 tablet
  • Facebook rolls out ‘nearby friends’ feature
  • Netizens seethe over Aquino’s ‘sacrifice’ message
  • Filipinos #PrayForSouthKorea
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, April 17, 2014
  • A humbler Church
  • Deepest darkness
  • ‘Agnihotra’ for Earth’s health
  • It’s the Holy Week, time to think of others
  • Global Nation

  • DoH denies Filipino nurse no longer positive for MERS virus
  • WHO warns vs spread of MERS-Cov, urges vigilance in taking precautions
  • Last call for nominations to ’14 Presidential Awards
  • San Francisco business coalition slams proposed tax on sugary drinks
  • A ‘time-travel’ production of ‘Les Miserable’ at Stanford
  • Marketplace