Latest Stories

5 Palaro records tumble

NCR swimmer, CL javelin ace shine in explosive day


BRYAN Pacheco of CLRAA breaks the record in javelin throw. EDWIN BELLOSILLO

DUMAGUETE CITY—Catherine Bondad of NCR launched her bid for a third straight Most Outstanding Athlete award by accounting for one of four swimming records set yesterday even as Bryan Pacheco of Central Luzon became the first record-breaker in athletics of the 2013 Palarong Pambansa here.

Bondad, the 2011 and 2012 Palaro Most Outstanding Athlete, nailed two golds at San Lorenzo Teves Aquatic Center with the 14-year-old San Beda-Alabang incoming junior smashing the record in the girls’ high school 100-meter backstroke with a time of one minute, 7.47 seconds.

“I want to win all seven events I’m entered, I’m well prepared and confident I can surpass myself,” said Bondad who also ruled the  400m freestyle to become the meet’s first double gold winner in the high school division.

Bondad,  who bettered the 1:07.94 mark of NCR’s Dorothy Hong in 2008,  swept her seven events in 2011 as an elementary  student and went 6-of-7 last year during her maiden stint in the high school division.

Pacheco, bouncing back from a silver medal in the shot put the other day, captured the boys’ high school javelin gold with a throw of 57.81 meters  at Gov. Mariano Perdices Memorial Stadium to smash the previous mark of 51.51m set by Danilo Abarra of Ilocos Region last year in Lingayen.

National Capital Region’s Joshua Vincent Patalud (56.75m) and Western Visayas’ Renzy John Gemolaga (55.10m) also surpassed the old record in placing second and third, respectively.

The day’s three other new marks came in elementary swimming with Regina Erin Castrillo of NCR claiming two and Central Luzon’s Rafael Barreto nailing one while producing three golden efforts which was the best by an athlete so far.

The 13-year-old Castrillo broke the 17-year-old girls’ 50-meter butterfly mark with a time of  29.68 seconds during the preliminaries that wiped out  the 30.65 standard set by Lynette Ang of NCR in 1996.  But the St. Theresa’s 8th grader took the gold in the afternoon finals in  a slower time of 30.14 seconds.

Castrillo, also gunning for a seven-gold romp after winning five in Lingayen last year, then joined hands with  Raissa Gavino, Joella Marie Consunji and Xiardi Chua to win  the 200m medley relay gold in 2:13.52, beating  the old 2:14.31 mark set by another NCR team in 2006.

Barreto ruled the boys’  200m free in 2:08.12, erasing the old mark of 2:09.33 by Omar Philip Dacera in 2009.

The surge in record-breaking performances came on the heels of  an announcement by the Department of Education to reward each gold medal P3,000 and each new record P3,000. Each member of the champion team will also get P1,000

Follow Us

Follow us on Facebook Follow on Twitter Follow on Twitter

Recent Stories:

Complete stories on our Digital Edition newsstand for tablets, netbooks and mobile phones; 14-issue free trial. About to step out? Get breaking alerts on your mobile.phone. Text ON INQ BREAKING to 4467, for Globe, Smart and Sun subscribers in the Philippines.

Tags: 2013 Palarong Pambansa , Sports

  • monses

    the PSC should finance the training of these athletes while they were young,a reward does nothing…

Copyright © 2014, .
To subscribe to the Philippine Daily Inquirer newspaper in the Philippines, call +63 2 896-6000 for Metro Manila and Metro Cebu or email your subscription request here.
Factual errors? Contact the Philippine Daily Inquirer's day desk. Believe this article violates journalistic ethics? Contact the Inquirer's Reader's Advocate. Or write The Readers' Advocate:
c/o Philippine Daily Inquirer Chino Roces Avenue corner Yague and Mascardo Streets, Makati City, Metro Manila, Philippines Or fax nos. +63 2 8974793 to 94
  1. Vietnam says it will not host Asian Games
  2. Pacquiao back in PH, heads home to wife, kids
  3. Manny Pacquiao in PBA? If so, he’ll wear No. 17
  4. Duke freshman declares for NBA draft
  5. Power Pinays smash India in Asian Women’s Club volleyball opener
  6. Freddie Roach: I’m satisfied; Manny Pacquiao did well
  7. Federer would skip tennis to be with wife, newborn
  8. Nadal passes clay landmark with 300th victory
  9. Ginebra’s new import Freeman arrives, makes PBA return vs ROS
  10. After Pacquiao, BIR chief Henares runs after boxing fans
  1. ‘Mommy D’ steals show as son fights
  2. Pacquiao wins unanimous decision vs Bradley to reclaim WBO title
  3. Pacquiao: I’m ready for Mayweather bout
  4. Manny Pacquiao: I’ll have everything back
  5. Mommy Dionisia explains ‘vodoo’ act vs Bradley
  6. Pacquiao punching power ‘way harder’ in first fight—Bradley
  7. Wrestling star Ultimate Warrior’s cause of death revealed
  8. My ideal weight is 140, declares Pacquiao
  9. Pacquiao ‘strong, faster’ for tiff
  10. Bradley to Pacquiao: You better be ready
  1. ‘Mommy D’ steals show as son fights
  2. Pacquiao wins unanimous decision vs Bradley to reclaim WBO title
  3. Pacquiao: I’m ready for Mayweather bout
  4. Mayweather surprise visitor to Bradley camp
  5. Bradley won’t last distance– Peñalosa
  6. Manny Pacquiao: I’ll have everything back
  7. Mommy Dionisia explains ‘vodoo’ act vs Bradley
  8. Pacquiao punching power ‘way harder’ in first fight—Bradley
  9. Wrestling star Ultimate Warrior’s cause of death revealed
  10. Tapering off: Pacquiao already at 147 lb


  • 12 dead, 96 injured in Holy Week accidents–NDRRMC
  • Filipino devotees re-enact crucifixion of Christ
  • Rouhani talks peace, outreach at army parade
  • Rains, thunderstorms on Good Friday
  • Carbon monoxide leak suffocates 20 in Catbalogan City
  • Sports

  • Heat seek Three-peat but Spurs, Pacers top seeds
  • Can Spurs get back at Heat? Can they survive West?
  • Hopkins, 49, seeks win for the ageless
  • LeBron still No. 1 with NBA’s most popular jersey
  • Pacquiao back in PH, heads home to wife, kids
  • Lifestyle

  • Levine designs womenswear with help from fiancee
  • Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Nobel laureate, dies at 87
  • Ford Mustang turns 50 atop Empire State Building
  • Pro visual artists, lensmen to judge Pagcor’s photo contest
  • ‘Labahita a la bacalao’
  • Entertainment

  • ‘X-men’ filmmaker slams ‘fabricated’ sex attack claims
  • Singer Chris Brown’s bodyguard on trial in DC
  • Whoopi Goldberg debuts as marijuana columnist
  • ‘X-men’ director accused of sex assault on teen boy
  • Cannes film festival launches race for 2014 Palme d’Or
  • Business

  • Italy sells luxury state cars on eBay
  • Asian shares mostly up in quiet trade
  • Dollar up in Asia on US jobs data, Ukraine deal
  • Barbie doll has a problem
  • Oil prices mixed ahead of long Easter weekend
  • Technology

  • Nokia recalls 30,000 chargers for Lumia 2520 tablet
  • Facebook rolls out ‘nearby friends’ feature
  • Netizens seethe over Aquino’s ‘sacrifice’ message
  • Filipinos #PrayForSouthKorea
  • Taylor Swift tries video blogging, crashes into fan’s bridal shower
  • Opinion

  • Editorial cartoon, April 17, 2014
  • A humbler Church
  • Deepest darkness
  • ‘Agnihotra’ for Earth’s health
  • It’s the Holy Week, time to think of others
  • Global Nation

  • WHO warns vs spread of MERS-Cov, urges vigilance in taking precautions
  • Last call for nominations to ’14 Presidential Awards
  • San Francisco business coalition slams proposed tax on sugary drinks
  • A ‘time-travel’ production of ‘Les Miserable’ at Stanford
  • Filipina Maryknoll sister honored for years of service
  • Marketplace