Home SportFootball

Teams eyeing to join CAFC tourney urged to submit entries before deadline

Cebu Daily News

FOOTBALL teams, especially those interested to see action in the men's category of the 11th CAFC National Inter-Club Football Cup, are urged to submit their entries now and not wait for Friday?s registration deadline.

Francis Ramirez of the Cebu Amateur Football Club (CAFC) said they are limiting the number of teams per category between eight to 10 to ensure that the event would run smoothly.

Categories to be contested are players 10, boys 12, boys 14, girls 17, boys 17, men's open and the 40 above.

The Interclub will run from May 21 to 29 in three venues.

The players 10 and boys 12 matches will be at Paref Springdale in Lahug; the boys 14, girls 12 and 40 above will be at the San Roque football field in Mandaue City while the boys 17 and men's open will be at the University of San Carlos ? Technological Center (USC-TC) in Talamban.

Seeing action in the players 10 are Canduman F.C., San Roque Royal United, SJSM/ 3 Bros., Cebu South United, Queen City United, Ateneo de Cebu, Danao F.C. and Count F.C.

The players 10 title last year was won by the San Roque Football Club (SRFC) B.

The Don Bosco Technology Center (DBTC) has yet to signify its intention of defending its boys 12 crown. Those who have signed up are Canduman F.C., Villa del Rio II F.C., Springdale, Los Amigos F.C., Ateneo de Cebu, Danao F.C., USC ? NC and Aroroy F.C. - Masbate

The Mandaue Technical Institute (MTI), on the other hand, will defend its boys 14 title against SJSM/ 3 Bros., Westbridge/Ilo-ilo City, MMIS, Ateneo de Cebu, Ormoc F.C., Abellana National School (ANS) Pomeroy F.C. and Blessed John.

In the boys 17, ANS Pomeroy is hoping to reclaim the title it relinquished to Colegio de Sta. Rita of Negros Occidental last year.

Joining them are MTI, Springdale, USC ? TC, Ateneo de Cebu, Ormoc F.C., Manila Soccer Academy, USC ? NC and Blessed John.

Four teams are competing in the girls 17 including Queen City United, Ateneo de Cebu, Aroroy F.C. - Masbate and USC ? TC while five teams have so far enlisted in the 40 Above including ERCO F.C., Hiroshi F.C., Count F.C., Queen City United A and Queen City United B.

In the men's open, Queen City United hopes to again hoist the title it lost to Doraemon in a physical match last year. Other hopefuls are San Roque Royal United, USC ? TC, Hiroshi F.C., Queen City United, Hijos F.C. - Samar and Count F.C.


Article Services


Also on INQUIRER Sports
Gear Up!
Running–improperly–can be hazardous to health
Health, Fitness And Training
Biggest Loser Asia aims to be more sensitive
Improve Your Game
Improving badminton footwork
Sports Buzz
Life after PBA for the "Fortune Cookie"
Inquirer Golf
Clutch Glory