Cagayan gains Shakey’s VL finals; Army lives on | Inquirer Sports

Cagayan gains Shakey’s VL finals; Army lives on

/ 02:39 AM October 12, 2013

POWERHOUSE Cagayan Province thwarted Air Force, 27-25, 25-19, 25-12, at Filoil Flying V Arena yesterday and swept its way to the Shakey’s V-League Season 10 Open Conference finals against either Philippine Army or Smart-Manynilad.

Army outlasted Smart-Maynilad, 25-21, 18-25, 12-25, 25-23, 15-10, in the first game to force a playoff for the other championship berth.

Thai standout Kannika Thipachot and Angeli Tabaquero combined for 32 hits for the Rising Suns, who stretched their win run to 14.

Aiza Maizo played just two sets and scored six for Cagayan as coach Nes Pamilar opted to rest her prized hitter with the Rising Suns already in full command.


Army turned to seldom-used Dahlia Cruz as it stayed in the hunt for a crack at the crown.

Cruz, formerly of Lyceum, stepped up for the Lady Troopers, scoring all her eight attack points in the final two sets.

“She stepped up big when we needed her most,” said Army coach Rico de Guzman after the one-hour, 51-minute triumph.
The knockout duel for the other finals berth in the league backed by Mikasa and Accel is scheduled at 4 p.m. tomorrow.

The Net Spikers produced 63 kills as against the Army Women’s 49. They also delivered more aces (11-8) and dominated the nonscoring skills—digs (48-30) and set (44-23). Army, however, had more blocks (9-8).

The combined 69-hit production of Smart’s Alyssa Valdez, Gretchel Soltones and Thais Lithawat Kesinee and Wanida Kotruang went for naught as the Army Women got back at the Net Spikers after losing in their last two meetings.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Cagayan Province, Philippine Army, Shakey's V-League, Shakey’s V-League Season 10 Open Conference, Volleyball

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.