Mangosong foils Aguilar, bags Phoenix moto title | Inquirer Sports

Mangosong foils Aguilar, bags Phoenix moto title

By: - Desk Editor / @dencioINQ
/ 11:18 PM November 13, 2013

Glenn Aguilar topped the fifth and final leg of the Pro Open Production but Bornock Mangosong held on to win the overall championship at the end of the 2013 Phoenix Motocross Series last Sunday at MX Messiah Fairgrounds, Club Manila East in Taytay, Rizal.

Mangosong clinched the title by finishing second in both Heats 1 and 2 of the final event of the five-leg series sponsored by Phoenix Petroleum Philippines Inc. and organized by Xtreme Adrenalin Sports Entertainment under Sam Tamayo.

Aguilar won the last two legs of the series but Mangosong had already piled enough points by winning the first three legs of the series which paraded the country’s finest motocross riders.


In a well-applauded move, Tamayo spearheaded a fund-raising campaign for victims of Supertyphoon Yolanda. Tamayo was elated with the successful conclusion of the series despite toying with the idea of postponing the fifth leg due to Yolanda.


Mangosong thanked Phoenix and XAS for the series, while Aguilar, a 14-time Rider of the Year awardee, said the event was a big boost to motocross.

Fast-rising Jacob Orbe shared the spotlight as he ruled the Pro Lites and also won P30,000 worth of products from Dan’s Bike Shop.

Janelle Saulog topped the ladies category; Mclean Aguilar was unbeatable in Kids Sr.; Troy Alberto emerged triumphant in Kids Jr.; Jay Lacnit ruled the Executive category; Dexter Bacabac prevailed in the Veterans category and Bryant Villaroman  dominated Pro Open Underbone. Neil Lim ruled Local Enduro and Amateur Open Production.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: 2013 Phoenix Motocross Series, Bornock Mangosong, Glenn Aguilar

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.