Scribes fete top coaches, stars tonight | Inquirer Sports

Scribes fete top coaches, stars tonight

By: - Reporter / @jwpayoINQ
/ 12:17 AM December 15, 2013

TWO first-year coaches who piloted their teams to the title and the core of two champion squads lead the best in varsity hoops who will be honored tonight in the 2013 Collegiate Basketball Awards at Saisaki-Kamayan Edsa.

La Salle’s Juno Sauler and San Beda’s Boyet Fernandez will receive the Coach of the Year honors in the annual gathering presented by the UAAP-NCAA Press Corps and Smart.

Five players who powered their teams to record runs in the men’s basketball competition will also banner the major awardees.


Far Eastern University’s Terrence Romeo and Letran’s Raymond Almazan, the Most Valuable Players in their respective leagues, head the Collegiate Mythical Five that includes La Salle’s Jeron Teng, San Beda’s Ola Adeogun and National University’s Ray Parks.
One of them will be named as the Smart Player of the Year, which will be given to a model student-athlete on and off the court.

Several Archers who starred in their UAAP title romp will also be cited like Arnold Van Opstal and Jason Perkins as well as the key cogs in the Lions’ fourth straight NCAA crown including Rome dela Rosa, Baser Amer and Art dela Cruz.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: 2013 Collegiate Basketball Awards, Basketball, Boyet Fernandez, Juno Sauler

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.