A slow round 8 but Algieri still on the defensive
MANILA, Philippines–Manny Pacquiao acknowledged that Chris Algieri can still manage to go toe-to-toe with him but the Filipino immediately followed it up with a two-punch combo.
A slower pace from Pacquiao compared to the previous two rounds but Algieri still backpedaled with the American landing a right straight to the face of the champion.
Algieri told the referee that a low blow hit him but the man in charge of the ring would not give him that as Pacquiao’s glove only hit the American’s leg.
Pacquiao then gave Algieri a high-five for the mistake.