Ravena, Thompson lead Mythical Team in Collegiate Basketball Awards | Inquirer Sports

Ravena, Thompson lead Mythical Team in Collegiate Basketball Awards

By: - Reporter / @MarkGiongcoINQ
/ 02:24 PM November 25, 2014

Ateneo's Kiefer Ravena and Perpetual Help's Earl Thompson lead this year's Mythical Team in the Collegiate Basketball Awards on Dec. 4. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Ateneo’s Kiefer Ravena and Perpetual Help’s Earl Thompson lead this year’s Mythical Team in the Collegiate Basketball Awards on Dec. 4. CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

MANILA, Philippines — Two of the best players in college basketball today, Ateneo’s Kiefer Ravena and Perpetual Help’s Earl Scottie Thompson head the Mythical Team chosen by the UAAP-NCAA Press Corps in the 2014 Collegiate Basketball Awards on Dec. 4 at the Saisaki-Kamayan EDSA.

Ravena and Thompson were unanimous choices by scribes after both standouts won the Most Valuable Player plum in their mother leagues.

The 6-foot Ravena led the Blue Eagles back to the Final Four in the UAAP Season 77 while the do-it-all Thompson powered the Altas to their third consecutive semifinals appearance in the NCAA Season 90.


Completing the Mythical Team are Far Eastern University forward Mac Belo, San Beda center Ola Adeogun and De La Salle University forward Jeron Teng.

Belo led the Tamaraws to their first Finals stint since 2005 after his memorable buzzer-beating 3-pointer beat the Green Archers in the Final Four.

Adeogun anchored the Red Lions’ run to their fifth NCAA crown in a row following a sweep of the Arellano Chiefs in the championship round.

Teng had his best season yet — finishing second to Ravena in the MVP race while helping La Salle to another semis appearance.


Eric Altamirano of UAAP champion National University and former San Beda mentor Boyet Fernandez will also be given Coach of the Year awards by Smart in the recognition dinner supported by Smart Sports, Accel 3XVI and Kohl Industries (Doctor J alcohol, Bactigel hand sanitizer, and Mighty Mom dishwashing liquid).

The annual event, also backed by San Miguel Corporation, UAAP Season 77 host University of the East, NCAA Season 90 host Jose Rizal University, Gatorade and the Philippine Sportswriters Association, fetes the outstanding performers in the country’s top two varsity leagues.



Champion coaches Altamirano, Fernandez to be feted in Collegiate Awards

Ateneo’s Kiefer Ravena wins UAAP Season 77 MVP

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Thompson hihiranging NCAA Season 90 MVP

TAGS: Ateneo Blue Eagles, Basketball, Boyet Fernandez, Collegiate Awards, Earl Scottie Thompson, Eric Altamirano, Jeron Teng, Kiefer Ravena, Mac Belo, Mythical Team, NCAA, Ola Adeogun, Perpetual Help Altas, UAAP

© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.