3x3 cagers head 25 PSA citation recipients | Inquirer Sports

3×3 cagers head 25 PSA citation recipients

/ 01:13 AM February 11, 2015

MANILA, Philippines—The Philippine team that reached the knockout quarterfinals of the Fiba 3×3 World Tour Finals in Sendai, Japan, last year leads a long list of athletes and entities to be given citation by the Philippine Sportswriters Association during its Annual Awards Night co-presented by Milo and San Miguel Corp.

Composed of Terrence Romeo, KG Canaleta, Rey Guevarra and Aldrech Ramos, the team dethroned world champion Doha of Qatar in the Fiba 3×3 World Tour Manila Masters to earn a berth in the world championship.

The 3×3 team leads 23 others to be cited for their achievements and contributions to Philippine sports in next Monday’s event at 1Esplanade in Pasay City.


The event’s principal sponsors are MVP Sports Foundation, Meralco and Smart with the Philippine Sports Commission as major sponsor. Lorenzo Lomibao Jr. of Business Mirror heads the 66-year-old PSA.


Cycling’s Daniel Caluag will receive the highest individual honor to be bestowed on the special night presented by PCSO, PBA, Rain or Shine, Maynilad, ICTSI, Accel, Pagcor, National University, Globalport, El Jose Catering and Air21 after being named as the PSA Athlete of the Year for 2014.

Sharing the limelight with Caluag are National U (President’s Award), MVP Sports Foundation Inc (Sports Patron of the Year), the 1973 PH men’s basketball team (Lifetime Achievement Award), coach Tim Cone (Excellence in Basketball), Mitsubishi (Hall of Fame), Alyssa Valdez (Ms. Volleyball), Jean Pierre Sabido (Mr. Taekwondo), and Princess Superal and Tony Lascuña (Golfers of the Year).

To receive citations: National University Lady Bulldogs, San Beda Red Cubs, Anita Koykka, Maybelline Masuda, Annie Ramirez, Geylord Coveta, the Philippine taekwondo team (male under-30), Francis Aaron Agojo, and the PH taekwondo team of Jeordan Dominguez, Juvenile Faye Crisostomo, Jaylord Seridon, Joe Vanni Colega, Rodolfo Reyes Jr., McAvyngyr Alob, Clement Tsulong Tan, Elisabella Cesista, Leanarda Nicole Landrito, Rinna Babanto, Jocel Lyn Ninobla, and Janna Dominique Oliva; Kenneth San Andres, Peter Gabriel Magnaye and Paul Vivas, August Benedicto, Claire Adorna, Bong Lopez, Philippine Basketball Marathon, University of the East juniors volleyball team, Adamson women’s softball team, Saturday Afternoon Gentlemen Sailors, Pagpupugay, Philippine Collegiate Champions League, Accel, Unilab Active Health and The Junior Golfers League.

Major awards recipients: Donnie Nietes, San Mig Coffee team, Gabriel Luis Moreno, Michael Christian Martinez, San Beda Red Lions, June Mar Fajardo, Kiefer Ravena, Mark Galedo, Daniella Uy, Mikee Charlene Suede, Jessie Aligaga, Jean Claude Saclag, Philippine dragon boat team, Philippine poomsae team (male under-30), Philippine poomsae team (freestyle), Kid Molave and Jonathan Hernandez.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Aldrech Ramos, fiba 3x3, KG Canaleta, Philippine Sportswriters Association, Rey Guevarra, Sports

© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.