2015 Milo Marathon victors get crack at prestigious Boston race | Inquirer Sports

2015 Milo Marathon victors get crack at prestigious Boston race

/ 07:49 PM June 18, 2015

Milo Marathon press conference. Photo from Bandera Sports.

Milo Marathon press conference. Photo from Bandera Sports.

The longest and biggest marathon event in the country raises its stakes as it offers two of its top runners the chance to participate in the Boston Marathon which touted as the “mecca of all races.”

During the media launch of the 39th Milo National Marathon on Thursday, it was announced that best male and female racers will have slots in the 2016 Boston Marathon in the US. The trip of the top racers to the annual world marathon will be shouldered by the food company.

Milo Sports Marketing Manager Andrew Neri said that it is only imperative that the country’s top racers participate in the Boston Marathon.


“We believe that our Filipino runners have what it takes to go head-to-head with the world’s finest athletes,” Neri said.

2015 SEA games winners Rafael Poliquit and Mary Joy Tabal are the 2014 MILO Marathon King and Queen.

Change of final race venue

Milo also announced that the venue for the national finals will be held at Angeles City, Pampanga on December 6, marking the first time that the national finals will be held outside Manila.


Milo Marathon race organizer Rio Dela Cruz said that the change in the race venue was enforced to ensure the safety of participants.

“Runners will be able to get a chance to enjoy being away from the hustle and bustle of Metro Manila, with less traffic and pollution,” Dela Cruz said.


Neri said that Metro Manila motorists will not be inconvenienced with the change in the final race venue.

About 15 to 20 thousand runners are expected to participate in the national finals in Angeles, Neri added.

The Milo marathon will also be held in Balanga in Bataan province and Calapan City in Occidental Mindoro for the first time.

Aside from the venue changes, the marathon organizers decided to give more prizes to 42-kilometer racers.

The first 42K runner who breaks the 2:15:00 invisible time barrier will win P100,000. The first male runner who breaks the 2:18:53 men’s record will win P50,000 and the first female runner who breaks the 2:48:00 women’s record will also receive P50,000.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

The 39th Milo marathon will kick-off in Dagupan on June 28. There will be 18 regional legs with 230,000 runners expected to participate.

TAGS: Athletics, Boston Marathon, Marathon, Milo Marathon, Sports

© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.