NCAA: Akhuetie, dela Cruz lead MVP race after 1st round | Inquirer Sports

NCAA: Akhuetie, dela Cruz lead MVP race after 1st round

/ 03:38 PM August 22, 2015


A nip-and-tuck battle for the Most Valuable Player award is shaping as the NCAA Season 91 men’s basketball tournament’s second round begins this week.
Bright Akhuetie of Perpetual and Art dela Cruz of San Beda are battling for the top plum, leading their respective squads to a tie for the second spot at 7-2 after the first round.
The Altas’ Nigerian rookie is currently at the top spot as he led the league in scoring with 21.33 points, and is at the top 10 in three other statistical categories, namely rebounds (fourth with 12.44 rebounds), steals (sixth with 2.0 steals), and blocks (10th with 1.0 block).
Dela Cruz, meanwhile, is chasing him with an average of 19.67 points (second in the league), 12.56 boards (third), and 6.11 assists (third).
But they are not just the two who are vying for the award.
Reigning MVP Earl Scottie Thompson of Perpetual is also making a case for a back-to-back, tallying three triple-doubles and normed 14 points, 11.44 rebounds, 8.89 dimes, and 1.56 steals through nine games.

Jiovani Jalalon of Arellano also has an argument for the award, registering 14.33 points, 5.89 boards, 8.89 assists, and 3.0 steals, as Allwell Oraeme of host Mapua rounds out the top five with 17.56 markers and league-best 19.11 rebounds and 4.22 blocks. JE



Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Allwell Oraeme, Arellano University, Art Dela Cruz, Basketball, Bright Akhuetie, College, Earl Scottie Thompson, Jiovani Jalalon, Mapua, Most Valuable Player, MVP, National Collegiate Athletic Association, NCAA, Perpetual College, San Beda College, Sports, UNIVERSITY
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.