Francis Alcantara, Alberto Lim Jr. advance in PCA Open | Inquirer Sports

Francis Alcantara, Alberto Lim Jr. advance in PCA Open

By: - Reporter / @junavINQ
/ 07:27 PM September 19, 2015

tennis fileFrancis Casey Alcantara, a former Australian Open juniors doubles champion, and fourth seed Alberto Lim Jr. advanced to the third round of the 34th Philippine Columbian Association (PCA) Open-Cebuana Lhuillier Wildcard Event by pulling off similar imposing victories over their lower-ranked opponents.

Alcantara demolished Carlo Nono, 8-2, after a shaky start while Lim, a 16-year-old marvel, never wavered in an overwhelming 8-0 win over Rodolfo Barquin.

”This is the worst surface (clay court) for me. Hopefully, I’ll get used to it as the tournament wears on,” said the 23-year-old Alcantara, who recently won the Olivarez Cup.

Alcantara, a prized discovery from Cagayan de Oro, faces Joel Atienza, an 8-0 winner over Santino Vista, while Lim tangles with Jimmy Tangalin in the event supported by Cebuana Lhuillier, Puma, Dunlop, The Philippine Star, Head, Babolat, Compass/IMOSTI and Sarangani Rep. Manny Pacquiao.


Tangalin got away with an easy 8-3 win over Michael Madrio.

Eight-time champion Johnny Arcilla, third seed Elbert Anasta, No. 6 Marc Anthony Alcoseba and No. 8 Ronard Joven also made it to the next round in the tournament held at the historic PCA courts in Paco, Manila.

Arcilla, last year’s runner-up, scored a walkover triumph against Chris Prulla while Anasta trounced Jomari Guira, 8-2, and Alcoseba posted an 8-4 victory over Harry Caron.

Joven defeated Jose Nicholas Cano, 8-3, in the meet supported by Whilpool/Fujidenzo, Broadway Motor Sales Corp. Coca-Cola Fesma Philippines, Tyrecorp Incorporated, Pearl Garden Hotel, Metro Global Holdings Corporation, Avida, PVL Restaurant, Mary Grace Foods, Inc., Seno Hardware and Wire Rope Corporation.


Defending champion Patrick John Tierro earlier progressed to the third round along with fifth seed Rolando Ruel Jr., No.9 Marc Reyes and 15th-ranked Arcie Mano.

Other second-round winners: Roel Capangpangan beat Marraphael Teng, 8-3; Dheo Talatayod stopped Arjohn Dela Cruz, 8-5; Argil Canizares bested Jhun Alcoseba, 8-5; and Fritz Verdad downed Joaquin Paras, 8-1.


The finalists in the men’s singles will earn automatic berths in the main draw of the upcoming 2015 Manila International Tennis Federation (ITF) Men’s Futures Leg 2 slated on October 2, while the players who make it into the quarterfinals and semifinals will gain access to the qualifying round. 

Only the winners in the doubles division will be given spots in the ITF main 16-pair main draw.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

A total of P87,000 is up for grabs this year with the men’s single champ taking the top purse of P20,000, while the runner-up gets P10,000. The ladies singles titlist and runner-up will take home P10,000 and P5,000, respectively

TAGS: Alberto Lim Jr., Francis Alcantara, PCA Open, Tennis

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.