Ateneo's Espejo named Spikers' Turf MVP | Inquirer Sports

Ateneo’s Espejo named Spikers’ Turf MVP

By: - Reporter / @BLozadaINQ
/ 09:53 PM September 20, 2015
Ateneo's Marck Espejo (15) rises over a couple of National University blockers. Tristan Tamayo/

Ateneo’s Marck Espejo (15) rises over a couple of National University blockers. Tristan Tamayo/

Ateneo head coach Oliver Almadro believes in the old adage, “you only get what you give.”

And it’s also the reason why Almadro has no doubt that his prized ward Espejo deserved to be named Spikers’ Turf MVP.


“The Lord blesses those who do good, maybe Marck does good so the Lord gave him his MVP award,” Almadro said after Ateneo swept National University to take Game 1 of the Finals. 

Still, Almadro said he wants his players to stay focused on achieving the team’s goal over individual awards. 


“Individual accolades come when team success happens,” Almadro said. 

Apart from winning the MVP trophy, Espejo was also the 2nd Best Outside Spiker. 

Howard Mojica, Emilio Aguinaldo College’s power hitter, was the 1st Best Outside Spiker. 

Ysrael Marasigan was the conference’s Best Opposite Spiker. 

A pair of NU defenders proved to be the best in the conference as Ricky Marcos and Kim Malabunga took home the Best Libero and Best Middle Blocker awards, respectively. 

Reyson Reyes of National College of Business Administration was the 2nd Best Middle Blocker while John Pagtalunan of Emilio Aguinaldo College was the conference’s Best Setter. 

For the complete collegiate sports coverage including scores, schedules and stories, visit Inquirer Varsity.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Ateneo Blue Eagles, Howard Mojica, Marck Espejo, NU Bulldogs, spikers’ turf, Sports, Volleyball
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.