San Sebastian’s Calvin Abueva bags NCAA MVP award

By: - Reporter / @MarkGiongcoINQ
/ 06:00 PM October 24, 2011

MVP. Calvin Abueva recieves his NCAA season MVP Award. Photo by Ejay Amador,

MANILA, Philippines—San Sebastian’s Calvin Abueva walked with his usual unwavering swagger and his head held high.

He knew it before it was being announced.


With almost a double-double output every game, Abueva bagged the MVP award in the 87th NCAA men’s basketball season.

Abueva, who normed a double-double of 21.5 points and 13.6 rebounds per game to go along with 3.6 assists, was the clear-cut winner besting teammate Ian Sangalang, Letran’s Kevin Alas and Raymond Almazan and San Beda’s Garvo Lanete.


“I don’t expect to have a double-double every night. I just trust my teammates,” said Abueva in Filipino Monday before game one of the finals between San Sebastian and San Beda at the Smart Araneta Coliseum.

Despite taking home the highest individual award, Abueva remained far from being satisfied, with his sights set on an ultimate goal.

“I’ll be happier (if we’ll win the championship). I’ll show to them that it’s not only the MVP that I’m after but also the championship,” said Abueva, who notched a total of 18 double-doubles this season.

The Stags look to avenge last year’s loss to the Red Lions. And this time Abueva and San Sebastian know this is the best opportunity.

“Our target is to get the championship. This is our chance,” said Abueva.

Meanwhile, Mapua’s flashy swingman Josan Nimes was named Rookie of the Year while the lanky Almazan took home the Most Improved Player award.

Sangalang fell short for the MVP trophy but the six-foot-six beanpole proved he owned the shaded area by being named as this year’s Defensive Player of the Year.


In the juniors division, Letran’s sophomore star Rey Nambatac went on to win the MVP plum.

Emilio Aguinaldo College’s Lugie Cuyos was the top rookie while fellow Brigadier Sidney Onwubere was recognized as the Defensive Player of the Year.

Nambatac, who led the Squires’ to a second-place finish in the elims before losing to the CSB Greenies in the step-ladder format, beat Onwubere, teammates Ivan Villanueva and Aldrin Serafica and Von Abatayo of the Red Cubs.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Aldrin Serafica, Basketball, Garvo Lanete, Ian Sangalang, Ivan Villanueva, Josan Nimes, Kevin Alas, Lugie Cuyos, MVP, NCAA Season 87, Raymond Almazan, Rey Nambatac, San Sebastian Stags, Sidney Onwubere, Sports, Von Abatayo
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.