Jalalon, Nambatac at forefront as NCAA All-Star Game awaits | Inquirer Sports

Jalalon, Nambatac at forefront as NCAA All-Star Game awaits

/ 01:01 AM August 06, 2016
Jio Jalalon vs the defense of Rey Nambatac. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/INQUIRER.net

Jio Jalalon vs the defense of Rey Nambatac. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/INQUIRER.net

MVP frontrunners Jiovani Jalalon and Rey Nambatac lead their respective teams when the NCAA Season 92 men’s basketball tournament closes the first round with the annual All-Star Game festivities next Friday at Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

Jalalon will pace the West All-Stars, which will consist of players from Arellano, San Beda, JRU, Perpetual, San Sebastian.


Joining Jalalon are Chiefs’ Kent Salado and Julius Cadavis, Red Lions’ Davon Potts, Donald Tankoua and Dan Sara, Heavy Bombers’ Tey Teodoro, Paolo Pontejos and Ervin Grospe, Altas’ Bright Akhuetie, Gab Dagangon and AJ Coronel, and Golden Stags’ Mike Calisaan, Ryan Costelo, and Jerick Fabian.

Nambatac, meanwhile, will captain the East All-Stars which will have stars from Letran, Mapua, EAC, Lyceum, St. Benilde.


He will partner with fellow Knights Jom Sollano and Mcjour Luib, Cardinals’ Darell Menina, Exeqiel Biteng and Andrew Estrella, Generals’ Sidney Onwubere, Francis Munsayac and Remy Morada, Pirates’ Mer Ayaay, Adrian Alban and Wilson Baltazar, and Blazers’ Christian Fajarito, JJ Domingo and Yankie Haruna.

Haruna and Arellano’s Lervin Flores have emerge as the favorites to win the Slam Dunk title.

But a stiff competition awaits them with Onwubere, San Beda’s Eugene Toba, San Sebastian’s Allyn Bulanadi, JRU’s Kim Aurin, Letran’s Renato Ular, Perpetual’s Rommel Mangalino, and Lyceum’s Jaycee Marcelino.

Defending Slam Dunk king Jebb Bulawan will skip the contest due to a shoulder injury.

Meanwhile, Nambatac is hopeful to keep the Three-Point Shootout title with the Knights as he defends the crown in lieu of last year’s champion Mark Cruz.

Out to deny the Knights a back-to-back are Biteng, Baltazar, San Sebastian’s Regille Ilagan, Arellano’s Zach Nicholls, San Beda’s AC Soberano, St. Benilde’s Carlo Young, JRU’s Paolo Evardo, EAC’s Jervin Guzman, and Perpetual’s McKevin Velasquez.

The league’s best speedsters will also join in the fun, as 10 of the fastest guards compete in the Skills Challenge.


Competitors include Alban, Costelo, San Beda’s Radge Tongco, Mapua’s Almel Orquina, EAC’s Raymond Pascua, JRU’s Mark dela Virgen, Arellano’s Kraniel Villoria, St. Benilde’s Franz Pasamante, Letran’s Matthew Bernabe, and Perpetual’s Flash Sadiwa.

This year will also feature a Shooting Stars contest, where players from the schools’ senior and junior teams partner with a legend from their alma mater.

Arellano will have Donald Gumaru, Guilmer dela Torre and Alvin Teng; JRU has Darius Estrella, Cadell Buno and Marvin Hayes; Letran got Jerrick Balanza, Stacey Tibayan and Ronjay Enrile; Lyceum will have Shaq Alanes, Mac Guadana and assistant coach Gary David; Mapua will be bannered by Darell Menina, Jasper Salenga and deputy Randy Alcantara; San Beda will have Javee Mocon, Prince Etrata and Jenkins Mesina; San Sebastian got Ian Valdez, Kobe Canoy and Nandy Navarro; Perpetual has Flash Sadiwa, Gielo Razon and Dominador Javier; EAC will have Igee King, Maui Cruz and Bong Melocoton; and St. Benilde has Amado San Juan, Joel Cagulangan and Roy Billanes.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Knights, Paolo Pontejos, players, Rey Nambatac
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2022 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.