SBP elects new Board of Trustees | Inquirer Sports

SBP elects new Board of Trustees

/ 03:09 PM August 08, 2016

PBA Commissioner Chito Narvasa. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/

PBA Commissioner Chito Narvasa. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/

Change is coming for Samahang Basketbol ng Pilipinas as the new Board of Trustees were elected on Tuesday during its National Congress at Dusit Thani Hotel in Makati.

The PBA got four seats in the board as the lone representative for the professional sector. Commissioner Chito Narvasa, chairman Robert Non, vice chairman Al Panlilio, and treasurer Erick Arejola were unanimously elected to the seats.

Senator Sonny Angara was also named as the representative for the youth sector for Kidzhoops.


Congressman Robbie Puno (FBA), Ricky Palou (North America Basketball Association), and Jobin Jarvis Uy (Juanito T. Uy-Fanny L. Uy Foundation Inc. Chairman’s Cup) were also named for the three seats allocated for the commercial sector.

Five seats were also given to schools, with Ronnie Dizer (UAAP), Paul Supan (NCAA), Joe Lipa (PCCL), Xavi Nunag (NBTC), and Melanie Florentino (ISAA) being voted for the spots.

Monica Jorge of Women’s Basketball League will be the representative for the Women’s sector.

Trustees from the geographical sector were also set.


Joey Guillermo (Filoil Flying V), Bernardino Bermudez (Las Pinas Schools Athletic Association) and Crispulo Onrubia (NCRAA) for Area 1; Virgilio Cortez (UCLAA) and Rey Bautista (Baguio-Benguet Educational Athletic League) for Area 2; Benjo Viola (South Luzon Universities and Colleges Athletic Association) and Ramoncito Fernandez (Cavite Schools Cultural and Athletic Association) for Area 3; Enrico Navarro (Cebu Youth Basketball League) and Fr. Joseph Haw (Iloilo Schools Athletic Association) for Area 4, and Glenn Escandor (Duterte Basketball League) and Stephen Dacoco (Cagayan de Oro Basketball Association) for Area 5.

The newly-elected Board of Trustees convened on Monday afternoon to elect the new set of officers of the SBP.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Al Panlilio, chito narvasa, Elections, Erick Arejola, Robert Non, SBP, Sonny Angara

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.