Teng, Sollano go 1-2 in 2016 PBA D-League Draft | Inquirer Sports

Teng, Sollano go 1-2 in 2016 PBA D-League Draft

/ 01:27 PM December 20, 2016



As expected, AMA Online Education picked Jeron Teng first overall in the 2016 PBA D-League Draft on Tuesday at PBA Cafe in Metrowalk, Pasig City.

The 6-foot-2 winger from La Salle was nabbed by the Titans as they eye to finally break through the semifinals, a feat they have never achieved in their stint in the league.


“Once Jeron Teng joins us, we’ll immediately see improvements,” said coach Mark Herrera in Filipino. “We need [veterans] right now because we’re a young team. We also don’t have Fil-foreigners so we’re rebuilding. This is a big morale boost for us.”


Tanduay, meanwhile, had the biggest surprise of the proceedings, selecting Letran big man Jom Sollano at second.

Racal went on and selected unheralded forward Jonjon Gabriel of Colegio de San Lorenzo at third, as Cafe France picked CEU standout Patrick Aquino at fourth.

Wangs Basketball selected Ateneo center G-boy Babilonia at fifth, Victoria Sports-MLQU got Jayson Grimaldo at sixth, and Cignal-San Beda plucked Davon Potts at seventh.

Batangas picked homegrown Wilmar Anderson to wrap up the first round.

Shockingly, Fil-Am guard Jason Brickman fell into the lap of Tanduay in the fourth round.

School-based squads Cafe France-CEU, Cignal-San Beda, and Victoria Sports-MLQU had to select their varsity players first before getting their hands in the draft pool.


The draft went on to the 18th round, where Batangas completed its roster full of native Batangueño ballers.

Jose Rizal University and guest team Blustar Malaysia opted not to participate in the proceedings as they already have their complete lineups locked.

The 2017 PBA D-League Aspirants’ Cup kicks off on January 19 next year at Ynares Sports Arena.

Here’s the complete list of rookies drafted in the proceedings:

First Round:

1. AMA: Jeron Teng (La Salle)
2. Tanduay: Jom Sollano (Letran)
3. Racal: Junjun Gabriel (San Lorenzo)
4. Cafe France: Patrick Aquino (CEU)
5. Wangs: G-Boy Babilonia (Ateneo)
6. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Jayson Grimaldo (MLQU)
7. Cignal-San Beda: Davon Potts (San Beda)
8. Batangas: Wilmar Anderson (UB)

Second Round:

1. AMA: Jeepy Faundo (UST)
2. Tanduay: Monbert Arong (FEU)
3. Racal: Jerrick Balanza (Letran)
4. Cafe France: Mishaal Veron (CEU)
5. Wangs: Justin Arana (UST)
6. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Nikko Lao (MLQU)
7. Cignal-San Beda: Robert Bolick (San Beda)
8. Batangas: Jon Macasaet (UST)

Third Round:

1. AMA: Mario Bonleon (UST)
2. Tanduay: Paul Varilla (UE)
3. Racal: Mac Tallo (SWU)
4. Cafe France: Orlan Wamar (CEU)
5. Wangs: Chris Lalata (St. Francis)
6. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Jaymark Mallari (MLQU)
7. Cignal-San Beda: AC Soberano (San Beda)
8. Batangas: Chris Dela Pena (Letran)

Fourth Round:

1. AMA: Renz Palma (UE)
2. Tanduay: Jason Brickman (Long Island)
3. Racal: Daryl Singontiko (Perpetual)
4. Cafe France: Alvin Capobres (San Sebastian)
5. Wangs: Michael Ayonayon (Sienna College)
6. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Juan Baliday (MLQU)
7. Cignal-San Beda: Calvin Oftana (SBC)
8. Batangas: Thomas de Guzman (Sacramento State)

Fifth Round:

1. AMA: PJ Barua (La Salle)
2. Tanduay: Andreas Cahilig (Amang Rodriguez)
3. Racal: Jon Sheriff (UST)
4. Cafe France: Allyn Bulanadi (San Sebastian)
5. Wangs: Earvin Lacsamana (St. Francis)
6. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Gianne Rivera (MLQU)
7. Cignal-San Beda: John Bahio (San Beda)
8. Batangas: JR Yasa (PCU)

Sixth Round:

1. AMA: Sabah Cox (CDO College)
2. Racal: AJ Coronel (Perpetual)
3. Cafe France: Justin Mercado (San Sebastian)
4. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Justine Padua (MLQU)
5. Cignal-San Beda: Joe Presbitero (San Beda)
6. Batangas: Lucky Mangabang (UB)

Seventh Round:

1. AMA: Jason Riley (Marian U)
2. Racal: Thomas Torres (La Salle)
3. Cafe France: Caesar Ortega (USC)
4. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Allan Dela Cruz (MLQU)
5. Cignal-San Beda: Kenneth Alas (San Beda)
6. Batangas: Mark Carongoy (San Lorenzo)

Eighth Round:

1. AMA: Kim Pojol (Corson HS)
2. Racal: Regie Basibas (UST)
3. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Alexander Unsay (MLQU)
4. Cignal-San Beda: Kyle Carlos (San Beda)
5. Batangas: Greco Magbuhos (Lyceum)

Ninth Round:

1. AMA: Matthew Bernarbe (Letran)
2. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Miguel Plata (Manila)
3. Cignal-San Beda: Krenz Carlos (NSW)
4. Batangas: Justin Ada (LPU-Laguna)

10th Round:

1. AMA: Jay-Ar Gaco (Arellano)
2. Victoria Sports-MLQU: Harold Butron (Adamson)
3. Batangas: Earvin Mendoza (St. Clare-Caloocan)

11th Round:

1. Victoria-MLQU: Yankie Haruna (St. Benilde)
2. Batangas: Benhur Lascano (De Ocampo Memorial)

12th Round:

1. Victoria-MLQU: Marvin Lee (UST)
2. Batangas: Kiervin Revadavia (St. Vincent)

13th Round:

1. Batangas: Cedric De Joya (UB)

14th Round:

1. Batangas: Don Carlo Fortu (UP-Batangas)

15th Round:

1. Batangas: Raymond Inciong (BSU)

16th Round:

1. Batangas: Jose Mari Bautista (Lyceum)

17th Round:

1. Batangas: Mark Cailao (LPU-Laguna)

18th Round:

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

1. Batangas: Dahrrel Caranguian (De Ocampo Memorial)

TAGS: 2016 PBA D-League Draft

© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.