Season’s quickest vie for Driver of the Year plum | Inquirer Sports

Season’s quickest vie for Driver of the Year plum

/ 05:14 AM February 13, 2018

The country’s finest motorsports achievers from the previous season take a bow on March 17 when they are honored in a gala celebration of the 15th Golden Wheel Awards Night at the Samsung Hall of SM Aura in Taguig City.

From karting to GT racing, the champions of the various 2017 race series will receive the sport’s most prestigious trophy.

The 2017 awardees are McKinley Kyle Paz (Scooter racing), Masato Fernando (Underbone), Marvin Mangulabnan (Superbikes), Donark Yuzon (Motocross), John Dizon (Karting), Milo Rivera (Slalom), Rick Jason de Guzman (Classic Cars), Patrick Dela Rosa (Grand Touring), Carlo Magno Jr. (Rallycross), Jonathan Tiu (Drag Racing), Eduardo Coseteng Jr. (Asian Karting, juniors) and Jacob Paolo Ang (Asian Karting, seniors).


The awardee for 4×4 Offroad Racing will be announced.


From among these season champions will emerge the Golden Wheel Driver of the Year awardee, a recognition befitting the racer who posted the most impressive win in 2017.

“The winner doesn’t have to be the runaway champion in his category last season,” said Johnny Tan, The Golden Wheel Awards founder and patron and regarded as the country’s godfather of motorsports. “He or she must display the truest character of a champion, a fighter to the last.”

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Karting

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.