Former Bomber Teodoro comes up with key hits as Batangas trips Parañaque | Inquirer Sports

Former Bomber Teodoro comes up with key hits as Batangas trips Parañaque

By: - Reporter / @cedelfptINQ
/ 05:38 AM February 24, 2018

BATANGAS CITY—Former Jose Rizal U standout Tey Teodoro hit clutch baskets in overtime as Batangas City survived Parañaque, 87-79, in overtime last Thursday night to stay unbeaten in the Maharlika Pilipinas Basketball League Anta Raja Cup here.

Teodoro knocked in five straight points, including a dagger triple with 46 seconds remaining as the Tanduay-backed Athletics picked up their fifth win in as many games to solidify their hold of top spot.


Val Acuña finished with 19 points for the Athletics, who also drew solid performances from Lester Alvarez, Jhaymo Eguilos and Paul Varilla.

Parañaque, which dropped to 2-3, fought back from a double-digit deficit even after the ejection of Jonathan Belorio for a second unsportsmanlike foul.


The Patriots, however, bungled a chance to snatch the win in regulation when Jong Baloria missed a jumper with five seconds remaining.

“We had problems because some of the players were showboating instead of playing for the crowd,” said Batangas coach Mac Tan.

Earlier, Navotas leaned on the hot shooting of Yves Sazon and JP Calvo in the fourth period as it rallied past Valenzuela, 82-77.

Struggling for most of the contest, Sazon came alive, making 13 of his 16 points in the fourth quarter, while Calvo also had eight of his 17 in the period as the Clutch completed a remarkable comeback from 21 points down.

The Clutch snapped a two-game slide to improve to 3-2, the same record as the Classic.

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Batangas City, Parañaque, Tey Teodoro
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2022 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.