Thursday, September 20, 2018

UST loses football final to UP but still retains general UAAP championship

/ 05:26 AM May 04, 2018

Kinatro Miyagi (9) vs Juan Villanueva. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/

University of Santo Tomas failed to stop University of the Philippines’ football rampage in the UAAP on Thursday but the España school remained king of the college circuit for the third straight year.

University of Santo Tomas dominated the eight-school league to cop the overall championship in Season 80 after compiling 283 points, 14 clear of runner-up La Salle. UST’s total was built on six first-place finishes this season. The school also finished second seven times and third three times.


Among the runner-up finishes was a 1-0 loss to UP in the finale of the men’s football tournament on Wednesday at Rizal Memorial Coliseum.

The win gave the Maroons a perfect season as they controlled the pace of the match and sent the Golden Booters scurrying on defense numerous times.

UP finally found a crack in UST’s armor, as Ian Clarino’s volley off a free kick from JB Borlongan at the 21st minute gave it the lead.

The Golden Booters tried to respond after halftime, but UP forwards Borlogan, Kintaro Miyagi, and Fidel Tacardon were still able to control the ball and get numerous shots on goal.

Dexter Benecio had an opportunity to draw for UST, but UP keeper Anton Yared was there to stop his shot at the 82nd minute.

The Maroon Booters ended their season with a flawless record of 12 wins and four draws.

UP took home its 18th men’s football title to reclaim the throne it lost last season.

Clarino was named the season MVP and Best Defender while his teammate Tacardon took the Rookie of the Year honors.

“We want to thank Rogie,” Clarino said in Filipino, referring to teammate Rogie Maglinas, who passed away two years ago and has been the Diliman side’s rallying point since then. “Win or lose, we did our best so we would not have any regrets.


“UST is a tough team and they never surrendered until the final whistle,” added Clarino, whose elder brother Gino has also played his final season for the Tigers.

Other individual winners were Ateneo’s Jarvey Gayoso (Best Striker) and La Salle’s Darius Diamante (Best Midfielder).

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Football, men's football tournament, UAAP, UP, UST
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2018 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.