Caitlin Viray breaks out of her shell to give Tigresses a boost | Inquirer Sports

Caitlin Viray breaks out of her shell to give Tigresses a boost

By: - Reporter / @BLozadaINQ
/ 08:45 PM March 27, 2019

Sisi Rondina, Eya Laure, Dimdim Pacres and Caityln Viray. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/

MANILA, Philippines—It’s indisputable that Cherry Rondina and Eya Laure have been leading University of Santo Tomas in the UAAP Season 81 women’s volleyball tournament.

While Rondina and Laure are the top two scorers in the league so far, the superstar duo also needs help from their teammates.

Enter the quiet Caitlyn Viray.


As the team’s main middle blocker, Viray had a career game 14 points to help lead the Golden Tigresses to the three-set win over the Lady Falcons with, 25-15, 25-12, 25-16 Wednesday at Filoil Flying V Center.

Rondina and Laure couldn’t help but be in awe of their silent teammate who usually stays in their shadow.

“As a rookie, I’m really happy for Ate Caitlin because she’s one of the veterans in the team and she’s gotten her rhythm that results to her getting her confidence during the game and that’s the most important thing,” said Laure in Filipino.

Laure led UST’s charge with 17 points while Rondina, Season 81’s scorer in terms of total points, added 10.


Rondina now has a total of 167 points while Laure has 155 for the second spot.

“I’m happy because everyone delivered especially the middle blockers,” said Rondina. “Caitlyn has a quiet personality but she will kill the ball any time she wants. Also, Eya and I had help today so the defense won’t just focus on us.”


“It’s a great feeling that it’s whole UST team that’s producing out there and not just a few of us,” added Rondina.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Caitlyn Viray, Cherry Rondina, Eya Laure, Sports, UAAP Season 81 women’s volleyball tournament

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.