Luke Gebbie, Remedy Rule win again in PH Nat'l Open Swimming Championships | Inquirer Sports

Luke Gebbie, Remedy Rule win again in PH Nat’l Open Swimming Championships

By: - Reporter / @BLozadaINQ
/ 01:07 PM September 02, 2019

Luke Gebbie

Luke Gebbie. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/

CAPAS, Tarlac—Luke Gebbie and Remedy Rule took their second straight gold medals in the Philippine National Open Swimming Championships Sunday at New Clark City Aquatic Center here.

After their conquest in the 50-meter freestyle in the first day of the tournament, Gebbie and Rule kicked things up a notch and took the men’s and women’s 100-meter freestyle events, respectively.


Gebbie clocked in 50.24 seconds for the gold medal while Jean Pierre Khouzam settled for the silver with a time of 51.89 seconds and third-placer Maurice Ilustre finished at 51.93 seconds.


Rule finished the course at 58.29 seconds while second-placer Xiandi Chua came in at 58.82 seconds and bronze medal winner Chloe Isleta registered at time of 58.87 seconds.

The tournament, which will run until Tuesday, serves as a gauge for the Philippine Swimming Incorporated to see who can represent the country in the 2019 Southeast Asian Games that will take place in Manila and in New Clark City.

Jessie Lacuña, who settled for the silver medal in the men’s 200-meter medley, got his sweet revenge when he claimed the gold medal in the the men’s 400-meter medley with a time of 4:33.96.

Thomas Peregrina, the winner of the men’s 200-meter medley, settled for second place with a time of 4:35.31 while bronze medalist Steven Ho clocked in at 4:44.60.

Chua, prior losing to Rule, took the gold medal in the women’s 400-meter medley at 4:59.62 while Gianna Garcia clocked in 5:15.92 for the silver while Micaela Mojdeh settled for the bronze with a time of 5:16.76.

Alberto Batungbacal narrowly beat Ianiko Limfilipino for the gold medal of the men’s 200-meter breastroke with a time of 2:22.14, .14 seconds faster than the silver medalist’s time of 2:22.28.


Jordan Lobos rounded out the podium with a time of 2:24.46 for the bronze.

Thanya Dela Cruz dominated the field in the women’s 200-meter breaststroke clocking in at 2:44.03 while silver medalist Bela Louise Magtibay came in more than five seconds later at 2:49.09 while Alyza Ng took the bronze medal with a time of 2:54.42.

Ilustre found his gold medal in the men’s 200-meter fly clocking in 2:04.95 while Miguel Barreto took the silver piece at 2:07.04 and bronze medalist Mervien Mirandilla settled for the bronze with a time of 2:09.43.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Kirsten Daos led the women’s 200-meter fly with a time of 2:18.69 while Rosalee Santa Ana earned the silver medal clocking in 2:18.97 while third-placer Mojdeh tallied 2:23.25.

TAGS: 2019 Southeast Asian Games, Luke Gebbie, Philippine National Open Swimming Championships, remedy rule, Sports

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.