outbrain
Close  

Jamike Jarin says refs miss ‘clear’ 5-second violation in NU loss to Adamson

By: - Reporter / @BLozadaINQ
/ 06:01 PM September 07, 2019
NU Bulldogs Jamike Jarin UAAP Season 82

NU Bulldogs head coach Jamike Jarin. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/INQUIRER.net

MANILA, Philippines—As great as Lenda Douanga’s game-winning shot for Adamson was to beat National University, the buzzer beater shouldn’t have happened in the first place according to NU head coach Jamike Jarin.

Jarin said Falcons guard Jerom Lastimosa, who found Douanga from the top of the key that paved way for the go-ahead 3-point basket, took too long to inbound the ball and the referees failed to call a five-second inbound violation.

ADVERTISEMENT

“It was a clear five-second violation,” said Jarin Saturday at Smart Araneta Coliseum after Adamson’s 84-83 win in overtime.

Jarin showed his team’s scouting video of the final play to members of the media and even had someone time the pass via stopwatch.

FEATURED STORIES

The play was timed twice and both instances showed Lastimosa got rid of the ball at around six seconds.

“Not to take anything away from Douanga, those are the shots you can only dream of,” said Jarin.

Read Next
EDITORS' PICK
MOST READ
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Jamike Jarin, Jerom Lastimosa, Lenda Douanga, National University Bulldogs, Sports, UAAP Season 82 men’s basketball tournament
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.


© Copyright 1997-2020 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.