Lascuña, Ababa share Del Monte lead | Inquirer Sports

Lascuña, Ababa share Del Monte lead

/ 05:08 AM September 19, 2019

Antonio Lascuña and Jonel Ababa carved out five-under-par 67s in humid conditions Wednesday to share a one-shot lead after the opening round of the P2.5-million ICTSI Del Monte Championship in Manolo Fortich, Bukidnon.

Out to break a two-year title drought, Lascuña gunned down six birdies against a bogey, while Ababa, chasing a first PGT win this season, was flawless in a 33-34 effort, although he rued missing three makeable eagle putts.

“I had some lapses in judgment with those eagle tries,” said Ababa in Filipino, referring to putts on par-5 hole Nos. 6, 9 and 14. “But overall, I played pretty well.”


Juvic Pagunsan, the consensus player to beat with four straight PGT victories coming here, fired a 69 to just be two behind, even as rookie Ira Alido and Aussie Jack Lane-Weston returned 68s to be one adrift.


“I got my iron game and putting going,” said Lascuña, who is coming off a playoff loss to Reymon Jaraula last week at Pueblo de Oro.  “I got a bit careless on No. 7 and made a bogey but regained my rhythm after I birdied No. 10.”

Reigning Philippine Open champion Clyde Mondilla and Paul Miñoza both holed out with birdies on the ninth to card 71s as they emerged the best-placed players from the host province at 18th, four behind the hot-starting Lascuña and Ababa.

Jaraula, who came into the event oozing with confidence following a breakthrough win, blew a one-under card after nine holes with three straight bogeys to open his backside bid on a course he calls home. He birdied No. 14 but dropped another stroke on the difficult par-4 17th to fall to joint 36th with a 74.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Antonio Lascuna, ICTSI Del Monte championship, Jonel Ababa

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.