World’s best surfers see action in Siargao International Surfing Cup | Inquirer Sports

World’s best surfers see action in Siargao International Surfing Cup

MANILA, Philippines–Siargao, hailed by Conde Nast Traveler’s as one of the world’s best islands, hosts the 25th Siargao International Surfing Cup starting Friday.

Sanctioned QS1,500 by the World Surf League (WSL) Asia, the Siargao surfing competition is the first and longest running international tournament in the Philippines.

Due to its charm and beauty, Siargao is known around the world as the surfing capital of the Philippines.


‘‘This is a milestone for Siargao and the entire surfing industry since we are commemorating our 25th year. But most importantly, we are staging this event to honor the father of surfing in Siargao, Mayor Jaime Rusillon,” said Siargao Rep. Bingo Matugas, lead organizer of this year’s event.


Rusillon, former mayor of General Luna, Surigao del Norte, helped start the decades-long series of surfing tournaments in 1993 with the Siargao Surfing Classics. He passed away earlier this year.

World Surf League Asia General Manager Steve Robertson described the Siargao International as an iconic event that will draw the best surfers in one of the last QS1 500 events in Asia.

‘‘”We are happy that this event has continued right here where the most perfect waves in the planet are and the WSL is honored to be part of it.’’

A year after the first Surfing Classic, Siargao hosted the first international surfing tournament in 1994.

‘‘There were only a few people, actually only the surfers themselves, regarded the event as something siginificant,” said Surigao Del Norte governor Francisco Matugas, who helped lead the pioneering of the international surfing tournament.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Philippines, Siargao, Siargao International Surfing Cup, Surfing

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.