UST’s Chabi Yo, Grace Irebu named UAAP MVPs in Season 82 | Inquirer Sports

UST’s Chabi Yo, Grace Irebu named UAAP MVPs in Season 82

By: - Reporter / @BLozadaINQ
/ 04:42 PM November 06, 2019
Soulemane Chabi Yo UST UAAP Season 82

FILE – University of Santo Tomas’ Soulemane Chabi Yo dunks the ball against Ateneo during their game in the first round of the UAAP Season 82 men’s basketball tournament at Araneta Coliseum. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/

MANILA, Philippines—University of Santo Tomas reaped the individual awards in both the UAAP Season 82 men’s and women’s basketball tournaments.

In the official tally released Wednesday, the Growling Tigers’ Soulemane Chabi Yo and the Tigresses’ Grace Irebu secured the MVP plums in men’s and women’s basketball while Chabi Yo’s teammate Mark Nonoy emerged as the season’s top rookie.


Chabi Yo, despite being an undersized center at 6-foot-4, garnered 76 statistical points throughout the eliminations while averaging 16.9 points, 14.7 rebounds, and 1.3 assists.

Nonoy, meanwhile, had 39.29 SPs while averaging 10 points, 3.9 rebounds, and 2.3 assists helping UST to an 8-6 record for the fourth seed in the tournament.


Irebu, who took her second straight MVP plum, tallied 90 SPs while leading the Tigresses to an 11-3 record for the second seed in the women’s tournament.

The double achievement by Chabi Yo and Nonoy is the first time since 2009 that teammates won the top individual awards in the men’s tournament.

Dylan Ababou and Jeric Teng were the MVP and Rookie of the Year, respectively, in Season 72 after leading the Growling Tigers to the fourth seed with a 6-8 record.

Chabi Yo and Irebu’s double MVP achievement was also the first time since 2013 that the two top players in both tournaments were schoolmates.

Terrence Romeo and Camille Sambile of Far Eastern University were the MVPs of Season 76.

Chabi Yo leads the men’s mythical team with La Salle duo Justine Baltazar (64 SPs), Jamie Malonzo (63.23 Sps), University of the Philippines’ Kobe Paras (62.08 SPs), and University of the East’s Rey Suerte (60.93 SPs).

Joining Irebu in the women’s mythical team are Adamson’s Nathalia Prado (86 SPs), former MVP Jack Danielle Animam of National University (78.57 SPs), FEU’s Claire Castro (66.64 SPs), and La Salle’s Kent Pastrana (57 SPs).

Get the hottest sports news straight into your inbox

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.
Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Grace Irebu, Mark Nonoy, MVP, Soulemane Chabi Yo, Sports, UAAP Season 82 men’s basketball tournament, University of Santo Tomas Growling Tigers, University of Santo Tomas Tigresses, UST
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

Subscribe to our sports news

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and
acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

© Copyright 1997-2021 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.