Seventh FilOil Flying V tourney launched

/ 02:52 AM March 22, 2012

MANILA, Philippines – Need your fix of college hoops?

The 2012 Filoil Flying V Pre-Season Hanes Cup whips the covers off its seventh season on April 14 at the Filoil Flying V Arena in San Juan.


The three-month long tournament, presented by Bostik Phils Inc., was formally launched Tuesday at the Bagoong Restaurant in Tomas Morato St. in Quezon City with a press conference and an organizational meeting attended by the team managers, coaches and representatives of the participating teams.

Also present were top officials of Filoil Flying V Sports, led by its new chair, former PBA player Boysie Henares, and this year’s tournament commissioners Ato Badolato, Aric del Rosario, Pepe Sanchez, Bert dela Rosa and Joey Lim.


Badolato presided over the meeting, assisted by Levi Valenzuela, head of the referees commission and Jun Bayais, chief of the table officials.

All eight UAAP schools, along with the 10 member schools of the NCAA, will see action in the tournament. Only one school, UE, won’t field a team in the juniors division, its slot going instead to Xavier School.

Ateneo de Manila will be back to defend the title it won last year at the expense of San Beda College. The Filoil Flying V Cup roster of champions include DLSU, (2006-2007), UE (2008), FEU (2009) and SSC-R (2010).

Molten is the tournament’s official ball. Eric Uy, contributor

Read Next
Don't miss out on the latest news and information.
View comments

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

TAGS: Basketball, FilOil, Sports
For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

© Copyright 1997-2019 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.