Fajardo, Castro, Standhardinger, Perez vie for PBA MVP award | Inquirer Sports

Fajardo, Castro, Standhardinger, Perez vie for PBA MVP award

By: - Reporter / @BLozadaINQ
/ 09:17 PM February 28, 2020

From L-R: June Mar Fajardo, Christian Standhardinger, Jayson Castro and CJ Perez are the final contenders for the PBA MVP award.

MANILA, Philippines—The race for the PBA MVP plum has dwindled down to four contenders with a couple of familiar faces and the other two who are figuring in the derby for the first time.

June Mar Fajardo, winner of the past five trophies, Jayson Castro, Christian Standhardinger, and rookie CJ Perez are the last challengers for the league’s top individual plum.


Fajardo (Philippine Cup), Castro (Commissioner’s Cup), and Standhardinger Governors’ Cup), were the respective winners of the Best Player of the Conference awards while Perez, the 2018 top overall pick, is also a frontrunner for the Rookie of the Year plum.


Team honors, however, favor the 6-foot-10 Fajardo after he led San Miguel to the Philippine and Commissioner’s Cups.

Fajardo averaged 18.9 points, a league-best 13 rebounds, 1.9 assists, and 1.5 blocks while leading the Beermen.

Standhardinger, who was once Fajardo’s frontcourt partner, averaged 12.3 points, 6.9 rebounds, and 1.4 assists while playing for the Beermen and NorthPort.

Castro, who’s been a runner-up several times for the MVP plum, put up 15.2 points, 4.6 rebounds, and a league-best 6.1 assists for TNT.

Perez, meanwhile, was the league’s top scorer with 20.8 points a game with 7.4 rebounds, and 3.4 assists.

Fajardo and Standhardinger also lead the eight frontcourt players eligible for the Mythical Selection with Ginebra’s Japeth Aguilar, NorthPort’s Sean Anthony, TNT’s Troy Rosario, Magnolia’s Ian Sangalang, San Miguel’s Moala Tautuaa, and Alaska’s Jeron Teng in the running.


The 12 backcourt players in contention for the Mythical Team are Castro, Perez, NorthPort’s Robert Bolick, San Miguel duo Alex Cabagnot and Chris Ross, Barangay Ginebra teammates Scottie Thompson and Stanley Pringle, TNT’s Roger Pogoy, Phoenix’ Matthew Wright, Magnolia’s Paul Lee, Columbian’s Rashawn McCarthy, and Meralco’s Chris Newsome.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

Others who are vying for the Rookie of the Year award are Bolick, Rain or Shine’s Javee Mocon, TNT’s Bobby Ray Parks Jr., and Alaska’s Abu Tratter.

TAGS: Christian Standhardinger, CJ Perez, Jayson Castro, June Mar Fajardo, PBA, Sports

© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.