FEU, Arellano spikers buck heat to down stubborn foes | Inquirer Sports

FEU, Arellano spikers buck heat to down stubborn foes

/ 10:52 PM April 19, 2012

BORACAY, Aklan— Far Eastern University and Arellano, back-to-back titlists in the UAAP and NCAA, respectively, weathered the scorching heat yesterday to lead the march of favorites in the quarterfinals of the 15th Nestea Beach Volleyball finals here.

FEU’s Arvin Avila and Karl Ian Calzada stopped Mindanao State U-Tawi-Tawi’s Roldan Medino Jr. and Imbran Idris, 21-7, 21-12, in the morning before downing Luzon leg winner Alnakran Abdilla and Joel Villanueva of De La Salle-Dasmariñas, 21-7, 21-11, in the early afternoon when the temperature peaked at 32 degrees Celsius.

National Capital Region winner Arellano, which drew a first-round bye along with the other leg winners, came from behind to thwart University of Visayas, 17-21, 22-20, 15-11.


The Chiefs’ John Carlo Lozada and Chris Salvador opted to play it slow rather than attack the net, which the Lancers’ Jade Becaldo and Mike Abria effectively covered in the first set.


FEU will take on Arellano in today’s quarterfinal round while Mindanao titlist University of Mindanao-Tagum and third placer Holy Cross of Davao College square off in another tiff.

UM-T’s Daryl Lapiz and Jefty Amora beat University of San Jose-Recoletos’ Jade Illut and Jason Uy. Holy Cross’ Joel Villonson Jr. and Edmar Flores, meanwhile, posted wins over University of Luzon’s Roneil de Guzman and Nelson Alejo, 17-21, 21-18, 15-12, and Visayas winner University of St. La Salle’s Roelene Inaudito and Kerwin Reje, 15-21, 22-20, 16-14.

In women’s play, Southwestern University bested Jose Maria College-Davao, 21-19, 21-16; De La Salle University dumped UL, 21-4, 21-8; Adamson trounced Perpetual Help-Biñan, 21-14, 21-10; and USLS overcame UM-Davao, 21-9, 21-18.

SWU’s Danika Gendrauli Lori Mae Layno and NCR champion University of Santo Tomas’ Maru Banaticla and Judy Ann Caballero were disputing a quarterfinal seat at presstime.

DLSU’s Jeushl Tiu and Kim Fajardo were taking on Mindanao champ UM-T’s Lourdilyn Catubag and Karen Kay Quilario; Angela Benting and Paulina Soriano of 2009 National Finals runner-up Adamson were battling Jovelyn Gonzaga and Fiola Mae Ceballos of def-ending women’s champion Central Philippines U-Iloilo; and USLS’ Sheryl June Denila and Patty Orendain were tackling Luzon titlist Jennifer Manzano and Gieselle Bembo of DLS-D.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: 15th Nestea Beach Volleyball, Volleball

© Copyright 1997-2024 INQUIRER.net | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.