PH to send 3 teams to Asian club championship | Inquirer Sports

PH to send 3 teams to Asian club championship

By: - Reporter / @BLozadaINQ
/ 04:29 PM August 27, 2021

Philippine national women's volleyball team

The Philippines will send two women’s teams to the Asian Women’s Club Volleyball Championship in Thailand. Photo courtesy of the PNVF.

MANILA, Philippines—The Philippine National Volleyball Federation will send a total of three teams to the Asian club championships that will be played in Nakhon Ratchasima in Thailand this coming October.

PNVF President Ramon “Tats” Suzara said that there will be two Philippine teams in the Asian Women’s Club Volleyball Championship and one in the Asian Men’s Club Volleyball Championship.


The Philippine Sports Commission recently approved a 20-member national women’s team and Suzara said that head coach Odjie Mamon and Brazilian consultant Jorge Edson Souza de Brito will choose four more players to form the two 12-women teams.


“This will be an excellent exposure for our new young players who will be playing alongside the veterans,” said Suzara, adding that fielding teams to the club championships is one of the PNVF’s commitments to both the Asian Volleyball Confederation and International Volleyball Federation.

The women’s teams fly to Thailand on September 27 for their tournament that will be played from October 1 to 7.

The men’s team, meanwhile, will leave on October 4 for their tournament what will take place on October 8 until 15.

Both teams will train at the University of the Assumption Gym in San Fernando, Pampanga with both the men’s and women’s squads starting on September 1.

The women’s team is composed of Majoy Baron, Mhicaela Belen, Kamille Cal, Rhea Dimaculangan, Kianna Dy, Imee Hernandez, Ivy Lacsina, Eya Laure, Dawn Macandili, Dindin Santiago-Manabat, Aby Maraño, Kalei Mau, Ria Meneses, Jennifer Nierva, Faith Nisperos, Mylene Paat, Dell Palomata, Bernadette Pepito, MJ Phillips, Jaja Santiago, Tin Tiamzon and Iris Tolenada.

Assistant coach Grace Antigua, trainers Raffy Mosuela and George Pascua, strength and conditioning coach Paolo Rivero and physical therapist Grace Gomez make up Mamon’s staff.


The men’s squad, on the other hand, is made up of Kim Malabunga, Rex Intal, Francis Saura, Manuel Sumanguid, Josh Retamar, Marck Espejo, John Vic De Guzman, Mark Alfafara, Ricky Marcos, Jao Umandal, Ysay Marasigan, JP Bugaoan, Jessie Lopez, Kim Dayadante, Joeven dela Vega, Jack Kalingking, Bryan Bagunas, Ish Polvorosa, Nico Almendras and Lloyd Josafat.

Dante Alinsunurin leads the coaching staff, which also includes Dong dela Cruz, Sherwin Meneses, Jeffrey Malabanan, and Enrico Rafael Francisco.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Asian Men's Club Volleyball Championship, Asian Women's Club Volleyball Championship, Philippine National Volleyball Federation, Ramon Tats Suzara

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.