PBA drops erring referee after ‘wrong call’ in Game 3 of PBA finals
MANILA, Philippines — The PBA’s technical committee admitted that the foul whistled against TNT’s Brian Heruela on Magnolia’s Paul Lee in the second quarter of Game 3 of the PBA Philippine Cup Finals was a “wrong call.”
“We made a wrong call, we admit that. No excuses,” said Eric Castro, the league’s deputy commissioner, on the PBA website.
“We have to move on and do a better job in the next games, plain and simple.”
A video of the play clearly showed that Heruela did not hit Lee, who was attempting a 3-pointer.
“Admittedly there was no contact. But things like this happen. Referees are humans. Magkakamalit magkakamili sila (They’re going to make mistakes). But their mistakes don’t go unpunished,” Bong Pascual, the league’s head of officials explained.
Magnolia won Game 3, 106-98, behind Lee’s 21 points.
PBA commissioner Willie Marcial said that Kenny Hallig, the referee who made the error, has already been dropped from the list of game officials for the remainder of the best-of-seven title series where TNT leads, 2-1.
The technical committee has also upgraded the flagrant foul penalty 1 called on Magnolia’s Jackson Corpuz to a flagrant foul penalty two upon a thorough review of the collision between him and TNT forward Troy Rosario, has upgraded from FFP1 to FFP2 the foul called on Jackson Corpuz with no suspension.
Fortunately for the Hotshots, Corpuz will not serve a suspension.
The play had Rosario taking a nasty spill that led to a fractured pinky finger and spinal shock. His status is doubtful for Game 4.
Get the hottest sports news straight into your inbox
Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.