Quest for next Filipino MMA star begins in ONE Warrior Series | Inquirer Sports

Quest for next Filipino MMA star begins in ONE Warrior Series

/ 09:04 PM September 15, 2022

ONE Warrior Series Philippines

Photo from ONE Championship

MANILA, Philippines—The next Filipino MMA star could be among the 16 aspirants competing in the ONE Warrior Series Philippines where the last man standing earns a spot in Asia’s largest martial arts promotion.

The ONE Warrior Series, which has 12 episodes, was launched on Thursday and premieres on Sunday airing on GTV and on the ONE Super App.


The winner will be rewarded with a $100,000 contract at ONE Championship and will make his debut at ONE 164: Pacio vs Brooks at Mall of Asia Arena in December.


“You can see real blood, sweat, and tears plus real drama,” said Team Lakay headmaster Mark Sangiao in the press conference.

“The (TV series) is touching. I’ve been with them for how many weeks and days. Everyone made a sacrifice and you can see their perseverance to win,” he added in Filipino.

Sangiao, ONE strawweight champion Joshua Pacio and former ONE flyweight king Geje Eustaquio trained the Filipino talents.

The 16 fighters were divided into two groups with Pacio’s Team Passion drafting Raymund Ortega, Ariel Lampacan, Ernesto Montilla, Norman Agcopra, Ariel Oliveros, L.A. Lauron, JM Guntayon, and Marvin Malunes.

Eustaquio’s Team Gravity, meanwhile, selected Genil Francisco, Adonis Sevilleno, Joevincent So, Ralf Francisco, Ely Fernandez, Sheraz Qurashi, Mcleary Ornido, and Christian Laurio.

“In this show, you will see a warrior that will cry,” said Sangiao. 

“Everyone proved that they deserved to win but you have to cut because there can only be one champion.”

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Geje Eustaquio, Joshua Pacio, Mark Sangiao, One Championship, Team Lakay

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.