Adamson's Lastimosa, Lady Archers' Binaohan share UAAP Player of the Week honors | Inquirer Sports

Adamson’s Lastimosa, Lady Archers’ Binaohan share UAAP Player of the Week honors

/ 02:18 PM November 30, 2022

Jerom Lastimosa

Adamson guard Jerom Lastimosa. Photo by Tristan Tamayo/

MANILA, Philippines — Adamson star Jerom Lastimosa and La Salle cager Bettina Binaohan stepped up when it mattered most for their respective squads in the homestretch of the UAAP Season 85 men’s and women’s basketball tournaments. Playing through a right foot injury, Lastimosa braved adversity and kept the Soaring Falcons alive in the race for the last Final Four berth, while Binaohan played an instrumental role in La Salle’s historic 61-57 overtime win over six-time champion National University that snapped the Lady Bulldogs’ record feat of 108 consecutive victories. For their heroics, Lastimosa and Binaohan were voted as the Collegiate Press Corps UAAP Co-Players of the Week. Lastimosa unleashed 23 points on 5-of-8 shooting from deep in 17 minutes of action to beat FEU, 75-70, followed by a seven-point performance highlighted by the game-winning trey in Adamson’s 64-63 escape act against NU. The flamboyant guard was a marked man in the most important game against NU and fired blanks in the second half, including a pair of 3-pointers down the stretch. But Lastimosa never lost his confidence, sinking a game-winning trey with 5.5 seconds left as Adamson survived NU to stay in the Final Four hunt with a 7-6 card. “We’re still alive going to the Final 4. I know that my first two shots didn’t go in. But I never gave up on my last shot. I think I also deserved what happened because I practice my shots every day, every morning, lunch, and dinner,” said Lastimosa, who added five rebounds, two assists, and a steal versus the Bulldogs. “One more push just to make it to the Final 4,” he added as Adamson has the chance to complete the Final Four picture with a win against Ateneo this Wednesday.
Bettina Binaohan La Salle Lady Archers UAAP

La Salle Lady Archers’ Bettina Binaohan during their game against the NU Lady Bulldogs in the UAAP Season 85 women’s basketball tournament. UAAP PHOTO

Meanwhile, Binaohan was a vital part of La Salle coach Cholo Villanueva’s perfect game against the once invincible NU, where she posted 10 points, nine rebounds, two assists, and two steals to force a traditional Final Four in the postseason for the first time in nine years. “Playing a perfect game against a perfect team to win. That’s what you need to beat a perfect team like NU so we played perfectly. My girls played perfectly on offense and on defense,” said Villanueva. Binaohan also posted a 14-point, 17-rebound double-double plus two assists and two steals in their 66-41 triumph over the winless University of the East to seal the No. 2 seed with a 12-2 card for a twice-to-beat advantage in the Final Four against the No. 3 UST (11-3). Lastimosa stood out over a bevy of candidates led by Ateneo’s Ange Kouame and Dave Ildefonso, UP’s Carl Tamayo, and UE rookie Rey Remogat, while Binaohan was picked over her teammate Lee Sario and MVP candidate Eka Soriano of UST for the award presented by the Philippine Sports Commission. It is the fifth time in four years that the group composed of print and online writers regularly covering the collegiate beat gave a shared citation for two players. The first was NU’s Ria Nabalan and Ateneo’s Ange Kouame in Oct. 2018 followed by UST’s CJ Cansino and Adamson’s Mar Prado in October 2019. UE’s Luis Villegas and Ateneo women’s star Kacey Dela Rosa also shared the honors this season. The group also handed out Co-Players of the Week honors in the NCAA with San Beda’s Robert Bolick and Letran’s Bong Quinto in Aug. 2018.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Adamson Falcons, De La Salle Lady Archers, Jerom Lastimosa, UAAP Season 85

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.