Luis Barredo rules 8th GMTBC Open

Luis Barredo rules 8th GMTBC Open

/ 02:55 PM March 11, 2024

Luis Barredo bowling


MANILA, Philippines–Luis Barredo of the Sta. Lucia East Bowling Association (Sletba) showed no fear as he beat two veteran players to capture the Open Masters division in the 8th GMTBC ICS/KwikPrint Open Championship finals at the Sta. Lucia East Bowling Center in Cainta Sunday.

The 20-year-old two-hander Barredo first topped the comebacking Jeff Chan in the stepladder stage, 278-225, then scorched the lanes with 207 and 214 pinfalls to stop the twice-to-beat former national player Benshir Layoso, who scored 187 and 196.

READ: Rivera wins 7th GMTBC-NP Open

Barredo actually finished third at the end of the gruelling 10-game elimination series behind Layoso and Chan. But he mustered enough courage and confidence in claiming his first major title.


“I was not expecting this. My focus was to just play my game and to have a podium-stage finish. I’m happy with the result, though,” Barredo said.

A total of 39 players qualified for the finals of the Open Masters division. It proved to be a thrilling competition with at least 10 players emerging as tough contenders for the top three positions and the right to join the stepladder stage.

READ: De Guzman tops Senior masters class in 7th GMTBC-NP Open

The finals capped the week-long tournament that covered five categories. The complete results in the other divisions:

Mixed Senior Associate Masters — Peter Go, SCTBA, champion; Andy Sta. Ana, PBA, 1st runnerup; Jules Pedrajas, USBC-Sletba-GMTBC, 2nd runnerup; Liza Zapanta, Sletba, 3rd runnerup; and Selwyn Cabaluna, Sletba-GMTBC, 4th runnerup.


Senior Open Masters — Edel Ocampo, Sletba-GMTBC, champion; John Tiongson, PBA, 1st runnerup; Edgar Caper, Sletba-GMTBC, 2nd runnerup; Frank Bodon, USBC-PSB, 3rd runnerup; and Dennis Kelsey, DATBI, 4th runnerup.

Mixed Classified Masters — Juven Maranan, PTBA, champion; Sen dela Cruz, USBC, 1st runnerup; Vinnie Sia, PTBA, 2nd runnerup; Argee Abadines, Sletba, 3rd runnerup; and Miguel Pardo, TBAM, 4th runnerup.


Mixed Rookie Masters — Miguel Flor, Sletba, champion; Francis Gerones, TBAM-Henrich, 1st runnerup; Jaypee Peteza, USBC, 2nd runnerup; Rhys Perez, PTBA, 3rd runnerup; and Ernie Santos, USBC, 4th runnerup.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Bowling

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.