Constantino charges back from three down to cop Caliraya title

Constantino charges back from three down to cop Caliraya title

By: - Reporter / @MusongINQ
/ 05:10 AM April 12, 2024

Harmie Constantino. –CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Harmie Constantino. –CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Harmie Constantino again came up with her flair for the dramatic, gate-crashing what was supposed to be a final round showdown between long-time rivals to win the ICTSI Caliraya Springs Championship in come-from-behind style.

Carving out a three-under-par 69, Constantino erased a three-stroke overnight deficit to joint leaders Pauline del Rosario and Princess Superal, with a 214, 54-hole tally giving her a two-shot win that came in the same manner she won at Palos Verdes three weeks ago.

“It just happened,” Constantino, who won in Davao by overhauling a five-shot deficit in the final round, said. “There’s no particular approach to it. Ideally, I’d like to lead [after] every round. The key is just stay in the moment and play my best.”


Del Rosario was seeking to repeat, but four bogeys in an eight-hole stretch from No. 6 doomed her to a closing 74 for 216, while Superal had six bogeys in a 75 that dragged her down to a fourth place tie with Chanelle Avaricio, who closed out with a 71, for 217.

It was the eighth win in a four-year career for Constantino.

Meanwhile, Clyde Mondilla wrested the lead in the P2.5 million, 72-hole men’s division after shooting a day-best 67 for 208 heading into Friday’s final round.

Mondilla cracked par for the third straight round and takes a one-shot lead over Keanu Jahns, who shot a 68. A quartet that includes Aidric Chan (73), South Korea’s Tae Soo-kim (69) and defending champion Antonio Lascuña, who fired a 70, lurks five back.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: Harmie Constantino, ICTSI Caliraya Springs

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.