Barredo logs FDG upset, ousts Tan | Inquirer Sports

Barredo logs FDG upset, ousts Tan

/ 12:39 AM July 10, 2015

Anna Patricia Barredo eased out second seed Pauline Tan, 22-20, 9-21, 22-20, at the start of the women’s Open singles in the FDG Cup 2015 Open and Invitational Badminton Championships at Powersmash in Makati City Thursday.

Barredo, one of the PBA-Smash Pilipinas bets in the four-day event offering ranking points from the Philippine Badminton Association, suffered a second set meltdown that forced a decider.

There, Barredo pulled off key shots to clinch the 40-minute victory over the top Allied-NVBA bet.

Barredo next faces Lindsay Tercias of La Salle, who forged a 21-23, 22-20, 21-16 thriller over Adamson’s Christine Garin.


In other matches, third seed Airah Albo, also of PBA-Smash, scored a walkover win over Kristine Mandap; No. 4 Monica Rivera survived Susmita Ramos, 21-13, 20-23, 21-12; Gelita Castilo repulsed Mariya Sevilla, 21-12, 14-21, 21-7; Aldreen Concepcion trounced Clydel Pada, 21-10, 21-6; Alyssa Geverjuan booted out Samantha Santos, 21-11, 21-15; and Marinel Diansay routed Joanna San Pedro, 21-6, 21-7.

Cassandra Lim smothered Virginia Lopez, 21-12, 21-12; Janel Dihiansan turned back Mary Ann Maranon, 21-19, 18-21, 21-18; Mikaela Aquino thumped Camille Gotohio, 21-9, 21-14; Jiselle Capillo swept Paola Bernardo, 21-16, 21-8; Aprille Bibiano bundled out Nicole Nieto, 21-18, 21-8; and fancied Malvinne Alcala clobbered Janine Peligrino, 21-10, 21-11.

Jochelle Alvarez scored an 11-4 (ret.) win over Elisha Ongcuangco but will next face top seed Sarah Joy Barredo, who drew a bye in the opening round of the annual event held in honor of Robinsons Land Corp. president Frederick D. Go, a long-time backer of the sport.

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.
Your subscription has been successful.

Subscribe to our daily newsletter

By providing an email address. I agree to the Terms of Use and acknowledge that I have read the Privacy Policy.

TAGS: FDG Cup 2015 Open and Invitational Badminton Championships

© Copyright 1997-2024 | All Rights Reserved

We use cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. By continuing, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. To find out more, please click this link.